Israel Studies Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Michael Brenner Abensohn Chair in Israel Studies and Director, Center for Israel Studies CAS - History

Michael Brenner is the Seymour and Lillian Abensohn Chair in Israel Studies and Director of AU’s Center for Israel Studies. He received his PhD at Columbia University and taught previously at Indiana

  mbrenner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2752

Dan Arbell Scholar in Residence

Dan Arbell, a scholar-in-residence at the Center for Israeli Studies at AU, is a 25 year veteran of the Israeli Foreign Service, serving in senior posts overseas in the UN, the US and Japan, and holdi

  arbell@american.edu

Boaz Atzili Associate Professor SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Boaz Atzili is a political scientist who researches and teaches international politics. His interest is in international security with an emphasis on the politics of borders and territoriality, de

  atzili@american.edu

Morad El Sana Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Dr. Elsana is an adjunct professor at the American University. Prior, he served as a professor of Public International Law, International Human Rights Law, and International Humanitarian Law. Dr. Elsa

  melsana@american.edu

Jeffrey Sosland Assistant Professor School of Prof and Extd Studies

Areas of Expertise: Water Politics of the Arab-Israeli Conflict, Experiential Learning - Internships and Higher Education The focus of Dr. Jeffrey Sosland's teaching is international business, global

  sosland@american.edu

  (202) 895-4922

Lauren Strauss

Dr. Lauren B. Strauss is a professor of modern Jewish history, specializing in American Jewish cultural and political history. She has taught for twenty years at universities in the Washington, D.C. a

  strauss@american.edu

Guy Ziv Assistant Professor SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Guy Ziv is an assistant professor in the School of International Service's U.S. Foreign Policy Program. He teaches a variety of undergraduate and graduate courses on U.S. foreign policy, the Middl

  ziv@american.edu

Emerita/us Faculty

Richard Breitman Distinguished Prof Emeritus

Richard Breitman received his B.A. from Yale University and his Ph.D. from Harvard University. He is author or co-author of ten books and many articles in German history, U.S. history, and the Holocau

  rbreit@american.edu

Myra Sklarew Professor Emerita

Myra Sklarew was educated at Tufts University and the Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University. She studied bacterial viruses and genetics at Cold Spring Harbor Biological Laboratory with Salvador

  msklarew@american.edu

Russell Stone Prof Emeritus

Russell A. Stone has research and teaching interests that include development, public opinion, social change, Middle Eastern and Third World societies, and environmental sociology. He has published on

  rstone@american.edu

Staff

Laura Cutler Managing Director, Center for Israel Studies CAS - Israel Studies, Center for

Laura Katz Cutler is Managing Director of the Center for Israel Studies at American University. A former commercial banker with Wells Fargo Bank, Ms. Cutler is a community activist and active member o

  cutler@american.edu

  (202) 885-3780

Affiliate Faculty

Philip Brenner Prof Emeritus

Dr. Philip Brenner has published widely on U.S./Cuba relations, U.S./Latin American relations, contemporary U.S. foreign policy, and the Cuban Missile Crisis. His most recent book is Cuba Libre: A 500

  (202) 885-1605

Erran Carmel Professor KSB - Information Technology

Professor Carmel teaches Information Technology (I.T.). He researches the globalization of technology work: crowdsourcing, impact sourcing, global software teams, offshore outsourcing, He also leads

  erran.carmel@american.edu

  (202) 885-1928

Amos Golan Professor CAS - Economics

Amos Golan directs the Info-Metrics Institute at AU. His main area of research is information, information processing and optimal decision rules based on efficient use of information (Info-Metrics).

  agolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3783

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Jill Klein Interim Dean, School of Professional and Extended Studies School of Prof and Extd Studies

In June 2018, Professor Klein was appointed Interim Dean of the School of Professional & Extended Studies, where she will continue the legacy of delivering cutting-edge, expert-driven higher education

  jklein@american.edu

  (202) 885-1856

Alan Kraut Distinguished Professor CAS - History

Alan M. Kraut is University Professor of History at American University and a non-resident fellow of the Migration Policy Institute. Specializing in immigration and ethnic history and the history of m

  akraut@american.edu

  (202) 885-2410

Lisa Leff Professor Academic Affairs, Office of

Lisa Leff is a historian of European and Jewish history, specializing in the history of Jews in France. She is the author of Sacred Bonds of Solidarity: The Rise of Jewish Internationalism in Nineteen

  leff@american.edu

  (202) 885-6377

Pamela Nadell Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History CAS - History

Pamela S. Nadell holds the Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History and is Director of the Jewish Studies Program. A specialist in American Jewish history and women’s history, she teaches

  pnadell@american.edu

  (202) 885-2425

Saul Newman Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education SPA - Government

Saul Newman is the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education in the School of Public Affairs at American University in Washington, DC. He received his PhD in 1989 from the Department of Politics, Pri

  snewman@american.edu

  (202) 885-6240

David Rosenbloom Distinguished Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Distinguished Professor of Public Administration, Rosenbloom specializes in constitutional-administrative law, administrative theory, history, reform, and personnel management. A major contributor to

  rbloom@american.edu

  (202) 885-2361

Thomas Zeitzoff Associate Professor SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Thomas Zeitzoff (NYU PhD, 2013) is an associate professor in the School of Public Affairs at American University. He was previously a postdoctoral fellow at Princeton University. His research focuses

  zeitzoff@american.edu