Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

College News


College of Arts and Sciences 2012 Commencement

Students celebrating Commencement.

Congratulations Class of 2012!

The 2012 College of Arts and Sciences commencement ceremony took place on May 13 at 1:00 p.m. Watch highlights of the ceremony and view photos.





Wayne Clough, the 12th secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, told graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences that "Knowledge is power. And when you leave here, whatever your avocation, the farther up the ladder you ascend, and make no mistake, you will as AU graduates ascend; you will be called upon to use power wisely. This city and this country needs what you can do. This world needs what you do as well.” Watch video or read transcript (as prepared).

Dean Peter Starr speech honored the Class of 2012. "Your work has made a difference, in DC and around the world." Watch video.

Theatre bachelor's degree recipient Kathryn Ryan delivered the student address. She stated that "Whatever comes, do not fear the unknown. Do not fear adversity." Watch video.



  • Jennifer M. Jones received the Stafford H. Cassell Award
  • Margaret Elizabeth Palermo received the Evelyn Swarthout Hayes Award
  • Tonei Glavinic received the Charles W. Van Way Award
  • Literature professor Richard Sha was honored as Scholar-Teacher of the Year


Retiring Faculty 

Stanley Weiss was recognized for his 44 years of service at the university.