Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

CAS News


CAS Dean's Office
Fax: 202-885-2429
Battelle-Tompkins, Room 200

CAS Dean's Office
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8012


Phi Beta Kappa Induction 2009

By Emily Schmidt

An impressive sixty-three students in the College of Arts and Sciences were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society on May 8, 2009. Induction into Phi Beta Kappa is highly selective. Individuals are chosen based on academic merit and scholastic achievements. Only the most outstanding arts and sciences students are considered for the society. All inductees are hand selected by chapter officers. Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. The Greek letters Phi Beta Kappa stand for the phrase, "Love of wisdom is the guide of life." The life-time membership includes benefits and resources for all inductees.  

Founded by a group of five students at the College of William and Mary in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest, preeminent collegiate honor society for the liberal arts in the United States. Every year approximately one college senior out of one hundred, nationwide, is invited to join the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa Society. Only about 10 percent of the nation's institutions of higher learning have Phi Beta Kappa chapters and approximately 10 percent of the arts and sciences graduates of these distinguished institutions are selected for Phi Beta Kappa membership. The society currently has more than a half million members and 276 chapters throughout the United States.  The American University Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Zeta of Washington, D.C., was founded in 1994.   

CAS congratulates the 2008-09 inductees:

Caitlin Aber, Clare Allenson, Erek Alper, Rebecca Aman, Sara Bahraini, Katie Beran, Julie Block, Joshua Cahan, Miriam Callahan, Kelsey Cambronne, Erwann Couesbot, Nicole Jensen, Caroline Johnson, Dana Kaplan, Lisa Katsir, Catherine Kelly, Molly Kenney, Joshua Levitz, Claire Lunieski, Meghan Falter, Jennifer Fantasia, Laura Fenwick, Eric Fillinger, Erin Frankrone, Samantha Gibson, Natalie Greene, Katie Gresham, Kent Harrel, William Herman, Zachary Huey, Anneke Mulder, Erin McLaughlin, Thäis Miller, Carla Muhrer, William Nicholson, Cristen Oehrig, Laura O'Friel, Samantha Parsons, Thomas Ports, Adam Potts, Aldo Prosperi, Brandon Robinson, Lillian Rosen, Paul Ruffner, Eric Schmidt, Susan Schneider, Jacob Shelly, Lee Shore, Angela Smith, Connie Smith, Jacquelyn Suarez, Katherine Suplick, Mary Swears, Jamison Terauchi, David Teslicko, Jamie Trimarchi, Teresa Tu, Margaret White, Caroline Winslow, Andrew Wolf, Stephanie Zechmann, Amy Zeigler, Lindsay Zoladz