Studio Art Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty and Artists in Residence

Tim Doud Professor CAS - Art

Tim Doud’s paintings and drawings address two seemingly distinct bodies of work, one figurative and one abstract. These bodies of works serve as a backdrop to broader discussions around constructed id

  tim.doud@american.edu

  (202) 885-3992

Kyle Hackett Professorial Lecturer CAS - Art

Kyle Hackett earned his MFA in Painting from the LeRoy E. Hoffberger School of Painting at Maryland Institute College of Art and his BFA in Fine Arts, as a McNair Scholar from the University of Delawa

  hackett@american.edu

  (202) 885-1682

Amelia Hankin Artist in Residence, Screen Printing

Amelia Hankin received her MFA from the Rhode Island School of Design. She has exhibited at the Janet Turner Print Museum (Chico, CA), Ellen Miller Gallery (Boston, MA), Eastern Oregon University, Uni

  hankin@american.edu

Andrew Holtin Associate Professor CAS - Art

Andy Holtin received his MFA from Virginia Commonwealth University’s Sculpture and Exended Media program. His work uses technological systems to create perfomative objects and interactive installation

  holtin@american.edu

  (202) 885-3928

Don Kimes Professor CAS - Art

Dividing time between the US and Italy, Kimes' work has been presented in over 150 exhibits including Denise Bibro, Frederieke Taylor, Claudia Carr, Kouros, Lucky Strike, Arsenal, National Academy, Am

  dkimes@american.edu

  (202) 885-3826

Danielle Mysliwiec Associate Professor CAS - Art

Danielle Mysliwiec holds a BA from Wesleyan University and an MFA from Hunter College. Mysliwiec’s primary practice is focused on abstract painting. In addition, she co-founded the feminist performanc

  mysliwie@american.edu

  (202) 885-6476

David Page Sculptor in Residence

Born in Cape Town, South Africa, David Page earned a National Diploma in Fine Arts from the Cape Tecnikon in 1986 and received an MFA from the University of Maryland, College Park in 2002. Recent so

  page@american.edu

Luis Silva Associate Professor CAS - Art

Exhibitions include Museum of Modern Art/Gramercy Theater, NY; Corcoran Museum of Art, DC; G Fine Art, DC; Bernard Toale Gallery, MA; Artpoint, Art Miami Basel; Fusebox Gallery, DC; DC Arts Center; Ne

  lsilva@american.edu

  (202) 885-1680

Naoko Wowsugi Professorial Lecturer CAS - Art

Naoko Wowsugi, an artist of Korean-Japanese descent, works with photography, video, and performance as forms of communication. Naoko received her MFA from Virginia Commonwealth University, BFA from bo

  wowsugi@american.edu

  (202) 885-6478

Adjunct Faculty

Thomas Bunnell Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Tom Bunnell received his BFA from the University of Oregon in 1995 and his MFA from American University in 1998. He has taught at the Chautauqua School of Art, Delaware College of Art and Design, and

  tbunnell@american.edu

Suzanne Fox Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Professor Fox is a sculptor who has exhibited in solo exhibitions at Greater Reston Arts Center, Reston, VA, Arlington Arts Center, Arlington, VA, Fayerweather Gallery, University of Virginia, Charlot

  sfox@american.edu

Hedieh Ilchi Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Hedieh Ilchi was born in Tehran, Iran and is currently living and working in the Washington DC area. Ilchi’s artistic intentions draw directly from her dual cultural identity as an Iranian/American. H

  hilchi@american.edu

Ian Jehle Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Working primarily in drawing and a subject matter primarily in portraiture, Ian Jehle has been in numerous exhibitions in North America, Europe and Asia.

  jehle@american.edu

James Mayhew Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Jaimes Mayhew is a Baltimore based artist, educator and researcher who currently works as The Autonomous Energy Research Lab. His work has been shown nationally and internationally at such venues as M

  mayhew@american.edu