French Faculty

Solange Garnier-Fox Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

I was born and raised in Southern France, and I completed my education in the beautiful town of Montpellier. At a very early age, I developed a passion for travels, a natural curiosity for immersion i

  garnierf@american.edu

  (202) 885-6925

Claudia Gotea Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Gotea was born and raised in Brasov, Romania where she earned her BA degree specializing in Eugene Ionesco's theater of the absurd. Right after earning her degree, she went to Penn State to pursue

  gotea@american.edu

  (202) 885-6348

Naima Hachad Assoc Professor CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Hachad’s research focuses on issues of gender and sexuality, autobiography and testimony, and the representation and memorialization of violence in cultural productions of the Maghreb and the Cari

  hachad@american.edu

  (202) 885-1458

Karina Jeronimides Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Professor Karina Jeronimides Krilla was born in South America but was raised in Italy and France. She speaks five languages fluently and has lived and studied in Europe, South America and the United S

  karina@american.edu

  (202) 885-6374

Elizabeth Lang Hurst Sr Prof Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Elizabeth Lang has taught French language courses at AU since 1991. Her primary interest is in political, economic, social and cultural issues in Francophone Africa, and international development.She

  elang@american.edu

  (202) 885-2342

Courtney Pollack Adjunct Instructor AU Abroad

A life-long Francophile, Courtney began her international adventure on a summer study abroad program while she was in high school in Annecy, France. After that experience, she decided to pursue her lo

  pollack@american.edu

  (202) 885-1328

Isabel Rivero-Vila Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Isabel Rivero-Vilá is a Senior Professorial Lecturer at American University and an independent filmmaker. She has been an Associate Professor at Carthage College for 18 years where she has taught

  isabelrv@american.edu

Christine Van Berten Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Christine van Berten teaches French and Francophone cultures, Literature and French language at university level in Europe and the United States for over 15 years. After a ten-year career as a Profess

  cvberten@american.edu

  (202) 885-6008