You are here: American University CTRL CTRL Faculty Fellows Program

CTRL Faculty Fellows Program

The Faculty Fellows program is designed to advance CTRL’s mission of promoting and supporting excellence in teaching and scholarship at American University. In doing so, the program recognizes and leverages faculty expertise to lead in the sharing of knowledge, experience, and creativity.

The Faculty Fellows program comprises four tracks: AU Core (Core), Inclusive Pedagogy (IP), Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL), and Teaching & Scholarship (TS). Appointment as Fellow comes with a stipend, and support from CTRL and relevant campus partners. 

Call for applications occurs every summer (mid-June) with appointments announced in August. Additional information about the program and how to apply is available on the Faculty Fellows Program page.

CTRL Faculty Fellows

Artificial Intelligence in Instruction Faculty Fellow

in partnership with the Office of Academic Integrity

Krisztina Domjan, Office of Global & Immersive Studies

Current and Past AU Core Fellows

AY 2023 - 2024
Cindy Bair Van Dam, College of Arts & Sciences
Scott Freeman, School of International Service
Kate Wilson, College of Arts & Sciences

AY 2022 - 2023
Chuck Cox, Department of Literature
Tabitha Kidwell, Department of World Languages and Cultures

AY 2021 - 2022
Rebecca Hazen, Department of Biology
Heather McDonald, Department of Literature

AY 2020 - 2021
Jenny Axe, Department of Chemistry
Symphony Bruce, University Library

AY 2019 - 2020
Terra Gargano, School of International Service
Angela Dadak, Department of Literature

Current Greenberg Building Future Faculty Fellows

AY 2023 - 2024
Lallen Johnson-Hart, School of Public Affairs
Maya Livio, School of Communication

Current and Past IP Fellows

AY 2022 - 2024
Tanja Aho, Department of Critical Race, Gender & Culture Studies
Santiago Toledo, Department of Chemistry
Phelton Moss, School of Education

AY 2021 - 2023
Jane Palmer, Department of Justice, Law & Criminology

AY 2020 - 2022
Raychelle Burks, Department of Chemistry
TaLisa Carter, Department of Justice, Law & Criminology
Salvador Vidal-Ortiz, Department of Sociology

AY 2019 - 2021
Amaarah DeCuir, School of Education
Krisztina Domjan, School of Professional & Extended Studies

Current and Past SoTL Fellows

AY 2023-2024
Edward Helfers, College of Arts & Sciences
James Quirk, School of Public Affairs
Shirin Sabetghadam, School of Public Affairs
Andrew Wasserman, College of Arts & Sciences

AY 2022 - 2023
Edward Helfers, Department of Literature
Andrew Wasserman, Department of Art

AY 2021 - 2023
Michele Lansigan, Department of Chemistry
Alison Chrisler, Department of Health Studies

AY 2020 - 2022
Amanda Choutka, Department of Literature
Adam Tamashasky, Department of Literature
Amy Trietiak, Department of Health Studies

AY 2019 - 2021
Shoaleh Dehghan, Department of Chemistry
Jesse Meiller, Department of Environmental Science
Jeremiah Patterson, School of Communication

Current and Past T&S Fellows (activity focus)

AY 2022 - 2023
Chuck Sturtevant, Department of Anthropology
Lynn Addington, Department of Justice, Law & Criminology
Katharine Manning, Department of Justice, Law & Criminology

AY 2021 - 2022
Luis Cerezo Ceballos, Department of World Languages and Cultures
Katharine Manning, Department of Justice, Law & Criminology

AY 2018 - 2019
Betsy Cohn, School of International Service (Faculty Mentoring)
Sarah Irvine Belson, School of Education (Collaborative Research)
Caroline Bruckner, Kogod School of Business (AU Centers Network)
Larry Engel, School of Communications (Media in the Classroom and Scholarship)
Max Paul Friedman, Colleges of Arts & Sciences (Greenberg Seminar)
Patrick Jackson, School of International Service (Teaching Critical Thinking)
Brigid Maher, School of Communicartion (Greenberg Seminar)
Gwendolyn Reece, University Library (Teaching Critical Thinking)
Lara Schwartz, School of Public Affairs (Inclusive Pedagogy)




CTRL is committed to providing services to all faculty & staff. Considering the inaccessibility of our location at Hurst Hall, we will coordinate the delivery of our services at an accessible location upon request. Request an accessible meeting via e-mail or call (202) 885-2117.

E-mail Us