Minutes Faculty Senate Meeting December 4, 2019

The complete Recording for this meeting can be December 4, 2019 found at: https://myau.american.edu/groups/Committee/fs/Shared%20Documents/Forms/ AllItems.aspx

Present: Professors: Karen Baehler, John Heywood, Elizabeth Worden Randall Blair, Stefano Costanzi, Max Friedman, Jolynn Gardner, Maria Gomez, Robert Hauswald, Kelly Joiner, Peter Kuznick, Benjamin Leff, Emily Lindsay, Stacey Marien, Garret Martin, Tom Merrill, Lillian Baeza-Mendoza, Danielle Mysliwiec, Hannah Park, Andrea Pearson, Zehra Peynircioglu, Jennifer Poole, Rick Semiatin, April Shelford, Jason Snyder, Brian Yates, Provost Dan Myers, DOF Mary L. Clark.

Professor Baehler called the meeting to order at 2:35pm

Chair's Report – Karen Baehler

Minutes Approval – Professor Baehler opened the floor for discussion or edits to the November 6, 2019 minutes. The Senate **VOTED** 24-0-0 in favor.

Vice Chair John Heywood informed the Senate that the Faculty Senate special committee for selecting faculty awards is forming. He requested volunteers from the senate.

Past Chair Elizabeth Worden stated that the senate leadership would like to start sharing updates from the Board of Trustees meetings to the Senate. She reported that the November BOT meeting included discussions on student retention and the planning of the comprehensive campaign. Additionally, Professor Worden described a robust discussion about how AU should respond to the United Methodist Church's recent vote to exclude the LBGTQ community from the church. The Church's new policy stands in stark contrast with the AU community's commitment to inclusiveness and defense of human rights. The AU Board of Trustees is preparing a statement affirming AU's inclusive policies and supporting the North American Jurisdictional Conferences in their opposition to the Church's "Traditionalist Plan."

Provost's Report – Dan Myers

Provost Myers mentioned another topic discussed at the BOT meeting: recent changes to the ethics code of the National Association of College Admissions and Counselors (NACAC) that allow universities to recruit students who have committed or enrolled at other universities. The BOT expressed concerns about the new NACAC policy and asked the provost's office to monitor how member colleges are responding through the current enrollment cycle and the next year or two.

Additional updates from the Provost included:

- The University Registrar will be announced soon.
- The Chief Online Officer search is coming an end as well. The pool was very impressive.
- The Dean of SOC, Dean of Research and Dean of Graduate Studies positions are moving through the search firm process.

CFA/DOF Revised Instructions – Max Friedman

Professor Friedman reviewed the various minimum changes made to the instructions clarifying process and language. Additionally, the spring CFA/DOF Open Meeting dates were changed to allow for earlier communications with faculty preparing files specifically over the summer. The Senate **VOTED** 24-0-0 in favor.

CTRL Resources for Building Teaching Portfolios – Kiho Kim

Executive Director of the Center for Teaching Research and Learning Kiho Kim presented work being done in CTRL to support the new teaching portfolios. He expressed great thanks to Erin Horan and Kim Westemeier, the two instructional designers from CTRL who have been assisting with the project.

Professor Kim provided a general overview of available resources, including an outline for midsemester course analysis, a teaching observation rubric, and Guidance for Self-Reflection on Course Content.

He noted that the goal of CTRL is not to dictate the portfolio-building process, but rather to support and guide faculty. The guidance documents provided by CTRL (and distributed to the community prior to the Senate meeting) are to be reviewed and discussed by each unit to help develop each unit's individual process. He requested that once this has been done within the units to please reach back out to CRTL to ensure that when adaptations occur the validity will be maintained. The senate had a discussion and provided feedback.

Academic Integrity Code – Alison Thomas

Professor Thomas presented a proposal for establishing a centralized Academic Integrity Code office to address a variety of problems with the current AIC arrangements, including inconsistent procedures and sanctions across units, which affect both students and faculty. Following a robust discussion and debate with arguments on both sides of the issue, the Senate VOTED 19-4-0 in favor of the following resolution.

The Senate supports the Academic Integrity Code Working Group's recommendation to establish a centralized Office of Academic Integrity to manage all cases and recordkeeping, and to coordinate academic-integrity-related teaching and learning support for faculty, staff, and students.

Faculty Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (FacCDI) Bylaws – Lilian Baeza-Mendoza

Professor Baeza-Mendoza, Chair of the FacCDI, brought forward proposed changes to the committee's bylaws, which included changing the name of the committee to Faculty Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and deleting or reframing several of the current committee charges. Feedback was provided and Professor Baeza-Mendoza agreed to take senators' suggestions to the committee and return with a new draft in the spring.

Inclusive Excellence (IE) Update – Amanda Taylor, Michelle Engert, Malini Ranganathan, Ximena Varela & Perry Zurn

Assistant Vice President on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in Campus Life Amanda Taylor thanked the Senate for providing time for the IE update and invited Vice President of Campus Life and Inclusive Excellence Fanta Aw to set the scene for the group's presentation. VP Aw stated that the journey over the last year (plus) has enabled the group to learn about what is working, what is not working so far, and what will be crucial to the second half of the fiveyear plan. She noted that it will take all levels of the university to make genuine progress. Efforts on the part of faculty and students are imperative as we move through years three through five of the Inclusive Excellence Plan.

Professor Taylor provided senators with a full draft of the new Inclusive Excellence plan for years three through five, but focused her discussion on review goals Four (Recruitment, Retention and Achievement) and Five (Scholarship, Research and Creative Work), and the challenge of incorporating DEI into these goals. The conversation was robust and included suggestions for further training, adding a place in faculty files for action to show how faculty have reflected DEI work in their scholarship (Goal Five), and improving job security for term and adjunct faculty.

For the good of the Order – Karen Baehler

Professor Baehler reminded the senators that the Committee on Academic Budget and Benefits is still in need of a chair to succeed Professor John Douglass.

The meeting was adjourned at 5pm.