Minutes Faculty Senate Meeting March 3, 2021

The complete Recording for this meeting can be March 3, 2021 found at: https://myau.american.edu/groups/Committee/fs/Shared%20Documents/Forms/ AllItems.aspx

Present: Professors: John Heywood, Garret Martin, Elizabeth Worden, Laura Beers, Randall Blair, Mike Cabot, Elizabeth Cotter, Todd Eisenstadt, David Haaga, Robert Hauswald, Rebecca Hazen, Olivia Ivey, Kelly Joiner, Benjamin Leff, Stacey Marien, Tom Merrill, Lillian Baeza-Mendoza, Mirjana Morosini, Hannah Park, Carolyn Parker, Britta Peterson, Jennifer Poole, Rick Semiatin, Richard Sha, Cathy Schaeff, Jason Snyder, Jennifer Steele, Matt Taylor, Brian Yates, Acting Provost Peter Starr, Interim DOF Monica Jackson

Chair's Report - John Heywood

Professor Heywood opened the floor for discussion of the February 3 minutes. With no discussion or changes were needed, the Senate **VOTED** 17-0-0 in favor.

Professor Heywood made a series of announcements:

- Professor April Shelford (CAS) resigned as an at-large Senator and has been replaced by Matthew Taylor (SIS).
- Professor Hannah Park (UL) resigned as the University Library representative and the "additional" Senator on the Executive Committee. Professor Richard Sha (CAS) will replace her seat on the Executive Committee for the remainder of the year and Professor Nikhat Ghouse will replace her on the Senate for the remainder of the AY 2021 term.
- The Executive Committee and Interim Provost Peter Starr appointed Professor Ed Wasil (Kogod) and Professor David Rosenbloom each to another three-year term on the Distinguished Professor Review Committee.
- Professor Heywood then extended his thanks to Professor Jane Palmer for her service as Faculty Director of the Community-Based Research Scholars (CBRS) program and to Professor Chuck Cox for his service as Faculty Director of Complex Problems and University College. He also congratulated Professor Dan Myers (CAS) for his recent appointment as President of Misericordia University.
- A brief description was given of the meeting of the Coalition for Intercollegiate Sports Coalition, as was a reminder of important outstanding vacancies, including the need for candidates for the positions of At Large Senators, for the Faculty Hearing Committee, and for the position of Vice-Chair of the Faculty Senate.

Provost's Report – Peter Starr

• Provost Starr began gave a brief report on the following: Undergraduate enrollment is down 14.1% to budget this year, which amounts to an actual decline of 4.1% in enrollment once

you factor in the 10% discount in tuition this academic year. The first-year retention rate reached 95.1%, which is very comparable to last year's numbers (95.7%). The Provost welcomed these very good results and praised the great retention work of Dean Jessica Waters and her team.

- Graduate enrollment is down 6.8% to budget, which amounts to an actual rise in numbers once you factor in the 10% discount in tuition this academic year. Online partnership revenues, for their part, are up by 12.8%.
- Undergraduate applications are the second highest total in AU history. Traditional Master's programs applications are currently up by 22.2% The forecast is expected to increase from last year.
- There will be a realignment of SPExS in July. There will be upcoming meetings with SPExS staff and faculty. The plan is to continue to update all the constituencies impacted as the realignment process unfolds.
- A reminder about the major principles underpinning wellness week was briefly touched upon and the early plans for the fall 2021 semester. As it stands, the idea would be to hold most classes in person, except for those with more than fifty students, and course caps will remain unchanged.

Graduate Academic Regulations Changes - Wendy Boland

Dean Wendy Boland presented a series of changes to the Graduate Academic Regulations with the goal of identifying if students in non-credit programs have the equivalent of full-time or part-time status. These changes were made to sections of the Graduate Regulations:

2.7 Admission to Non-Credit Graduate Programs

9. Requirements for Non-Credit Programs

9.1 Designation of Equity of Full-Time and Part-Time Status for Students Enrolled in a Non-Credit Program

The Faculty Senate **VOTED** 22-0-2 in favor.

Equity Task Force Report - Todd Eisenstadt & Max Friedman

Professor Eisenstadt (SPA) and Dean Friedman presented the main findings of the report produced by the *Task Force on Equity in Faculty Reappointment, Promotion, Tenure, and Merit*, which they co-chaired with Dean Christine Chin (SIS). They focused especially on parts II (Equity in scholarship standards: toward inclusive excellence) and III (Recognizing Faculty Contributions to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) of the report.

Professor Eisenstadt reminded all that the recommendations and suggestions put forward by the report are meant to be a baseline or the beginning of a conversation. The discussions will have to continue within each school, which will ultimately have to decide which recommendation they want to implement.

Dean Friedman added that this Task Force was very much a faculty driven initiative, with representation of all the schools of campus. He also pointed out that part II is not about watering

down standards for scholarship and tenure. Instead, there is no opposition between inclusive excellence and maintaining high standards.

A discussion then ensued, which covered various issues such as: the support that could be provided to implement the recommendations of the report at the unit level; the role of the Faculty Senate in overseeing and supporting the implementation phase; the questions of fairness for tenure track colleagues who have dealt with shifting guidelines in regard to their tenure review; and a review of the implementation phase to flag possible challenges and difficulties.

The Faculty Senate <u>VOTED</u> 15-6-4 in support of the general principles of the report, but on the condition that it will continue to provide oversight and support in the implementation phase.

AU Core Regulation Changes - Cindy Bair Van Dam & Brad Knight

Brad Knight, Director of the AU Core Office, and Professor Cindy Bair Van Dam, Chair of the AU Core Committee, outlined a series of proposed changes to the AU Core Regulations. These include: 1) Allowing students to fulfill the Capstone requirement through an approved course taken on an AU Abroad program; 2) Waiving Complex Problems for students who enter with 60 credit hours 3) Allowing credit for coursework taken prior to matriculation at American University to satisfy integrative requirements 4) Striking redundant language in some regulations; and 5) Adjust the credit ranges in some regulations to more fairly sort students representative of their academic progress. The Senate <u>VOTED</u> 23-0-1 in favor.

The Meeting was adjourned at 4:40pm.