You are here: AhealthyU Wellness Council

AhealthyU Wellness Council

AhealthyU Wellness Council

The AhealthyU Wellness Council members help communicate worksite wellness activities and initiatives that help encourage faculty and staff to adopt healthy lifestyle behaviors. Council members assist with wellness activities and evaluation of their impact to help bring about cultural changes that make the work environment more supportive of these healthy behaviors.

There are 14 council members across on- and off-campus buildings to help meet your health and wellness needs. Find your building's Wellness Council member below!

Krystle Higgins

Business Assistant, Athletics and Recreation
higgins@american.edu
202-885-3043

Fun Fact: I like to play volleyball in my free time.

Donna Femenella

Course Reserves Coordinator, University Library
dfem@american.edu
202-885-3230

Fun Fact: In high school, I learned how to create glass stained items, which included making small windows, suncatchers, and lamps.

Lauren Kline

Fitness Coordinator, Wellness & Special Events, Recreational Sports and Fitness
lkline@american.edu
202-885-6657

Fun Fact: My favorite place is Mackinac Island, Michigan.

Michelle Fleitz

Systems Analyist, University Publications 
mfleitz@american.edu
202-885-5947

Fun Fact: I ski most weekends during the winter.

Leanna wright

Assistant Director, Environmental Health and Safety
pina@american.edu
202-885-2007

Fun Fact: I coach a run club for moms to train together for races and create a community of women with similar interests.

Kevin Barrett

Police Captain, University Police and Emergency Management
kbarrett@american.edu
202-885-2526

Fun Fact: I went to school for two months in third grade in Glasgow, England.

Mark Schaefer

University Chaplain, Campus Ministries 
schaef@american.edu
202-885-3336

Fun Fact: I have taken solo bike rides of 360, 350, 791, 816, and 523 miles.

Rene Thomas

Associate Director of Graduate Studies, Kogod School of Business
rthomas@american.edu
202-885-1911

Fun Fact: I love to travel!

Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold

Assistant Dean, Administration and Strategic Initiatives, School of Communication
kristipg@american.edu
202-885-2059

Fun Fact: I like to hike - especially if there are coffee and snacks at the end. The best place I have hiked to date is New Zealand.

Jackie Garcia

Communication and Graphics Coordinator, HR Communications 
jgarcia@american.edu
202-885-2569

Fun Fact: I am usually playing on 2-3 different soccer teams a week.

Mark Feist

Assistant Director of Facilities Operations, Facilities Management
mfeist@american.edu
202-885-2348

Fun Fact: I enjoy spending time with my four grandchildren in Leesburg, Virginia and bike riding on the W&OD trail.

Chris Nasti

Assistant Director, Fitness and Wellness Programs, Recreational Sports and Fitness
cnasti@american.edu
202-885-6048

Fun Fact: I have traveled to 49 of the 50 states.

Hannah Debelius

Sustainability Manager, Office of Sustainability
debelius@american.edu
202-885-6262

Fun Fact: I love all things crafting!

Jill Ivey

Senior Student Applications Specialist, Enterprise Systems, Office of Technology
jivey@american.edu
202-885-2641

Woman doing a shoulder stretch in an AhealthyU exercise class

Join Our Listserv

Are you new to AhealthyU? Join our listserv to receive email notifications on upcoming events and more.

Sign-Up

Game your way to healthy living with the Points to AhealthyU game.

Points to AhealthyU Game

Earn point stamps for every eligible event you participate in and redeem your points for prizes. Get started today and download the game sheet!

Join Anytime