Collaboration Award

Juan Allen

Energy Management

The DC Consortium of Universities was working with the DC Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE) to develop regulations to benchmark building performance for university campuses in response to the Clean Energy DC Omnibus Act of 2018. Juan Allen was quick to volunteer. Along with a shortlist of individuals from Georgetown, Gallaudet and GWU, a task force was established to take on this challenge.

Because of AU’s early adoption and preparation, and Juan’s extensive experience implementing and managing AU’s benchmark reporting program and conservation projects, he was well versed and forward thinking. Juan juggled a heavy workload, participation in AU’s 21st Century Leadership program, and the challenges of home life, yet he found time to invest several hours each day to help the task force meet their deadline.

Juan, in collaboration with other members of the task force, assembled a logical methodology for applying the data available and ran “what if” scenarios to understand the cost and non-compliance implications. The task force presented the proposed a benchmarking methodology to the Consortium who determined that it was a well-developed, well-vetted, acceptable methodology.

Juan’s collaboration and service on behalf of the university exemplifies our commitment to partnering with the District to develop win-win regulations in the face of unprecedented, aggressive environmental legislative, political and economic pressure.

Congratulations to Juan Allen for being selected as the recipient of the 2020 Collaboration Staff Award and thank you for all that you do for American University.

Collaboration Award Nominees

Congratulations to the 2020 Collaboration Award nominees!

Although the nominees were not selected for this year's award, their outstanding work did not go unnoticed. Thank you for all you do!

  • Sumaira Akber
  • Juan Allen
  • Tyler Atkins
  • Matthew Buechner
  • Jaime Clark
  • Arif Farran
  • Rayon Fulton
  • Terra Gargano
  • Debra Gonski
  • Ethan Goss-Alexander
  • Eder Granados
  • Derek Jansante
  • Ellen Jimenez
  • Shandra Kelly
  • Jennifer Baron Knowles
  • Brandi Lavigne
  • Kailey MacDonald
  • Lisa Manning
  • Paul Manuel
  • Monica Phillips
  • Faith Pirlo
  • Daniel Prengel
  • Mackenzie Sammis
  • Patricia Stewart
  • Richard Streeks
  • Brittany Thomas
  • Laura Walter
  • Minli Wang
  • Madeleine Weyand-Geise
  • Laura Whiston
  • Julie Wickham
  • Justin Williams