You are here: Meet the Faculty

Shawn Bates Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Mr. Bates is an international lawyer, mediator, educator and trainer with over 15 years of experience in the international arena. He is currently Assistant Professor in the School of International Ser

  sbates@american.edu

  (202) 885-6169

Omekongo Dibinga Professorial Lecturer SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Omékongo Dibinga is the UPstander. His life’s mission is to inspire all across the globe to take a stand when they witness an injustice, no matter how small or large. He is a motivational speaker,

  dibinga@american.edu

Daniel Kerr Associate Professor CAS - History

Dan Kerr, the director of American University's public history program, specializes in the fields of community history, oral history, and public history. The projects he has initiated, including the C

  kerr@american.edu

  (202) 885-2161

Jesse Meiller Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Environmental Science

Jesse Meiller is an marine ecologist and environmental toxicologist. Jesse received her PhD from the University of Maryland in the Marine, Estuarine, Environmental Sciences (MEES) program after doing

  meiller@american.edu

  (202) 885-1780

Jeffrey Middents Associate Professor CAS - Literature

Professor Middents studies and teaches film and world literature, specifically focusing on Latin American narratives from the 1960s to the present. His film-oriented courses cover a wide range of conc

  middents@american.edu

  (202) 885-2979

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943