You are here: Meet the Faculty

Daniel Esser Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Esser's current research investigates the social foundations of political legitimacy in non-democratic settings. This new line of inquiry builds on his widely cited work on urban governance,

  esser@american.edu

  (202) 885-1892

David Pike Department Chair, Literature CAS - Literature

Professor Pike is Chair of the Department of Literature (June 2016-May 2019). His most recent book is Canadian Cinema since the 1980s: At the Heart of the World (U of Toronto P, 2012). He is the autho

  dpike@american.edu

  (202) 885-2996

Larry Engel Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

With nearly 40 years of teaching and filmmaking, and 250 projects, his documentaries appear on PBS, the Discovery Channels, and National Geographic, among many other outlets. Awards include a Daytime

  engel@american.edu

  (202) 885-2688

Kathleen Holton Assistant Professor CAS - Health Studies

Dr. Kathleen Holton is a nutritional neuroscientist. Her research examines the negative effects of dietary excitotoxins on neurological symptoms, as well as the positive protective effects of certai

  holton@american.edu

  (202) 885-3797

Andrew Holtin Associate Professor CAS - Art

Andy Holtin received his MFA from Virginia Commonwealth University’s Sculpture and Exended Media program. His work uses technological systems to create perfomative objects and interactive installation

  holtin@american.edu

  (202) 885-3928

Maggie Burnette Stogner Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Maggie Burnette Stogner is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. She teaches in the Film and Media Arts division, bringing over 25 years of experience to the classroom. During her nine years a

  stogner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2160

Caleen Jennings Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Caleen Sinnette Jennings is Professor of Theatre; since joining the faculty in 1989, she has directed for the main stage season and taught thirteen different courses in the theatre and general educati

  cjennin@american.edu

  (202) 885-3430

Celine-Marie Pascale Professor CAS - Sociology

As a sociologist who studies language, Dr. Pascale's research concerns culture, knowledge and power. She is currently engaged in a study of the discursive production of risk in US media accounts of th

  pascale@american.edu

  (202) 885-2524

Isaiah Wooden Assistant Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Isaiah M. Wooden is a director-dramaturg and Assistant Professor of Performing Arts at American University (AU). He received his A.B. in Government from Georgetown University and earned his Ph.D. in T

  wooden@american.edu

  (202) 885-2773