Skip to main content

Middle States

Self-Study Steering Committee

In November 2011, American University Provost Scott A. Bass appointed Robert A. Blecker, Professor of Economics, and Karen Froslid Jones, Director of Institutional Research and Assessment, as co-chairs of the Middle States Accreditation Self-Study Steering Committee. Other members of the Steering Committee Include:

  • Sharon Alston, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Enrollment, Enrollment Services
  • Nana An, Assistant Vice President of Budget & Finance Resource Center, Finance and Treasurer *
  • Fanta Aw, Assistant Vice President of Campus Life and Director of International Student and Scholar Services, Campus Life
  • Nancy Davenport, University Librarian, Bender Library
  • Leeanne Dunsmore, Associate Dean, Graduate Admissions and Program Development, School of International Service, SIS
  • Alberto Espinosa, Professor, Department of Information Technology, KSB
  • Violeta Ettle, Vice Provost for Academic Administration, Provost *
  • Abbey Fagin, Assistant Vice President of Development, Development *
  • Christine Farley, Professor, Washington College of Law, WCL
  • Adriana Ganci, Undergraduate Student, SIS *
  • James Girard, Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry, CAS
  • Jon Gould, Professor, Department of Justice, Law and Society, School of Public Affairs, SPA
  • Larry Kirkman, Dean, School of Communication, SOC
  • Douglas Kudravetz, Associate Vice President of Finance and Treasurer, Finance and Treasurer *
  • Lisa Leff, Associate Professor, Department of History, CAS
  • Camille Lepre, Assistant Vice President for Communications and Media, Communications *
  • Howard McCurdy, Professor, Department of Public Administration and Policy, SPA
  • David Pitts, Associate Professor, Department of Public Administration and Policy, SPA
  • Arthur Rothkopf, member, Board of Trustees
  • Stephen Silvia, Associate Professor, SIS
  • Virginia (Lyn) Stallings, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies, Provost
  • James (Joe) Ste. Marie, Undergraduate Student, SPA*
  • Maggie Stoeckel, Doctoral Candidate, CAS *
  • David Swartz, Assistant Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Finance and Treasurer *
  • David Taylor, Chief of Staff to the President, Office of the President
  • Carola Weil, Dean, School of Professional and Extended Studies, SPExS

Also contributing was Jorge Abud, former assistant vice president for Facilities Development and Real Estate, (Finance and Treasurer.

* At-large member