You are here: American University Campus Life Dean of Students Sexual Assault Working Group

About the Working Group

  • Traci Callandrillo, Assistant Vice President of Campus Life, chairs the Sexual Assault Working Group (SAWG). The group is charged with (1) ensuring continuity in sexual assault prevention commitments and (2) continuing to shape AU's intervention strategies consistent with the White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault and the Violence Against Women Act Reauthorization Act of 2013. The committee's work is transparent, as are the data gathered on students' experiences with sexual violence and on the effectiveness of the measures we implement.
  • In 2016-17, the Sexual Assault Working Group:
    • Completed the EverFi Sexual Assault Diagnostic Inventory and invited a consultant from Everfi to meet with SAWG members and others to share the results and to discuss strategic priority areas for improvement.
    • Based on recommendations from EverFi, the SAWG Assessment Committee contacted local organizations who support survivors of sexual assault with primary health care services to determine the number of AU students served by their respective organization.
    • Analyzed Think About It data to determine the utility of the survey results for the purposes of assessment; highlighted key findings.
    • Conducted a longitudinal evaluation of the StepUp Bystander Intervention Program.
    • Analyzed EmpowerAU data and made recommendations for future enhancements for program.
    • Hosted two Town Hall Meetings. The fall 2015 forum showcased results from Dr. Jane Palmer's Biennial Survey of Sexual Violence, Dating Violence, and Bystander Intervention. The spring 2016 forum featured the results of the EverFi Sexual Assault Diagnostic Inventory presented by EverFi consultant, Kimberley Timpf. Marketed Town Hall Meetings on Facebook and through e-mail communications to staff and students.

Charge, Steering Committee, and Subcommittee Structure, 2017-2018

Charge: The Sexual Assault Working Group (SAWG) is charged with reviewing the university's efforts on issues of interpersonal and sexual violence including sexual assault, dating and domestic violence, and stalking. The Working Group will assess current efforts, identify areas for improvement, and make recommendations to the Vice President of Campus Life to ensure that our campus approach is comprehensive, effective, and compliant with Title IX and the Campus SaVE Act. SAWG is organized into a Steering Committee with five subcommittees focused on student advocacy and support, campus awareness and education, university policies and procedures, outreach and communications, and assessment.

Reports to: Dr. Fanta Aw, Vice President of Campus Life

Chair: Dr. Traci Callandrillo, Assistant Vice President of Campus Life and Interim Dean of Students

2017-2018 Steering Committee Members

  • Sara Yzaguirre, OASIS
  • Mickey Irizarry, Health Promotion and Advocacy Center
  • Maya Vizvary, OASIS
  • Traci Callandrillo, Counseling Center
  • Sarah Stanley, Washington College of Law
  • Rima Sifri, Public Safety
  • Katie Porras, Student Conduct and Conflict Resolution Services
  • Colin Gerker, Fraternity and Sorority Life
  • Jane Palmer, SPA (Justice, Law & Criminology)
  • Jessica Waters, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies
  • Jody Gan, CAS (Health Studies)
  • Athena Argyropoulos, Athletics
  • Christine Gettings, Center for Community Engagement and Service
  • Jenn Baron Knowles, Kay Spiritual Life Center
  • Desiree Francis, Student Health Center
  • Michelle Espinosa, Office of the Dean of Students
  • Regina Curran, Title IX Program Officer
  • Clint Musser, Athletics
  • Shawn Bates, SIS (GGPS & IC)
  • TBD, Student Government
  • TBD, Women's Initiative
  • TBD, Student Advocacy Center
  • TBD
  • TBD, Student Bar Association
  • TBD, Graduate Leadership Council
  • TBD, Residence Hall Association
  • Brandon Ranallo-Benavidez, Graduate Student
  • Meaghan Kirby, Panhellenic Representative
  • TBD, Intercultural Greek Collective
  • TBD, Students Against Sexual Violence
  • Justin Perillo, Office of General Counsel