Skip to main content

Kay Spiritual Life Center

Our Chaplains

The Kay Spiritual Life Center is home to more than two dozen faith communities, supported by a number of chaplains. Our chaplains, all supported by their respective faith communities, provide an invaluable service to the AU community.

Scroll down for our chaplains and their contact information or use the links below to jump to the chaplains of a particular religious tradition.

Baha'i

Denize

Donna Denizé

Baha'i Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (202) 537-6478
Email: donna.denize@cathedral.org

Read More

 

Buddhist

Barbara Kraft

Barbara Kraft

SGI Buddhist Chaplain
Email: rchicknel@aol.com

Read More

no photo

Ven. Bhante Katugastota Uparatana

Buddhist Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (301) 946-9437
Email: kuparatana@gmail.com

Read More
Connie Utada

Connie Utada

SGI Buddhist Chaplain
Email: mitsue33@hotmail.com

Read More

Catholic

Fr. Carlos Quijano

Fr. Carlos Quijano, O.P.

Roman Catholic Chaplain
AU Phone: x3294
Email: priest@american.edu

Read More

Dr. Karin Thornton

Dr. Karin Thornton

Associate Roman Catholic Chaplain
AU Phone: x3326
Personal Phone: (202) 364-8785
Email: thornton@american.edu

Read More

Martha Kerley

Martha Kerley

Roman Catholic Chaplaincy Office Manager
AU Phone: x3327
Email: kerley@american.edu

Read More

Christian Science

Joan Echols

Joan Echols

Christian Scientist Chaplain
AU Phone: x1881
Email: echols@american.edu

Read More

Hindu/Vedic

no photo

Pandit Vishnu Ramphal

Hindu/Vedic Chaplain
AU Phone: x3320
Personal Phone: (301) 325-5134
Email: visra@american.edu

Humanist

Binyamin Biber

Binyamin Biber

Humanist Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Email: biber@american.edu

Read More

Jewish

Ahmad

Jason Benkendorf

Executive Director of Hillel
AU Phone: x3324
Email: jasonb@american.edu

Read More

Molly Cram

Molly Cram

Hillel Engagement Director
AU Phone: x3127
Email: mollyc@american.edu


no photo

Meidan Keidar

Jewish Agency Israel Fellow
AU Phone: x3323
Email: meidan@american.edu

Latter-day Saints

no photo

Michael Cottle

Latter-Day Saints Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (202) 448-3399
Email: Cottleml@ldschurch.org

Muslim

Ahmad

Imad-ad-Dean Ahmad

Muslim Chaplain
Personal Phone: (301) 951-0539
Email: ahmad@minaret.org

Read More

Non-Denominational

Kevin Offner

Rev. Kevin Offner

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (202) 546-3326
Email: koffner@verizon.net|

Read More

Andrew and Karlayne Powars

Andrew and Karlayne Powars

Campus Crusade for Christ
Personal Phone: (301) 951-0539
Email: andrew.powars@uscm.org

no photo

Rich Vanegas

Every Nation Campus Chaplain
Off-Campus Phone: (301)-254-1903
E-Mail: vanegas@american.edu or rich@gracecovdc.org

no photo

Sylstea Sledge

Gospel Choir Chaplain and Director
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (301) 805-5627
Email: sledgenote@aol.com

Read More

Orthodox Christian

Lee

Fr. Dimitri Lee

Greek Orthodox Chaplain
Email: dimitri@american.edu

Protestant

Quinn Fox

Rev. Quinn Fox

Presbyterian Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Email: qfox@american.edu

Read More

Joey Heath

Rev. Joey Heath

United Methodist Chaplain
AU Phone: x3304
Personal Phone: (912) 271-0383
Email: joeyh@american.edu

Read More

Adrien Ngudiankama

Rev. Adrien Ngudiankama

Baptist Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (240) 595-2127
Email: adrienn@american.edu

Read More

no photo

Rev. Tom Omholt

Lutheran Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (202) 966-5489
Email: tomholt@stpaulslutherandc.com

Read More

Carolyn Seaton

Carolyn Seaton

Episcopal/Anglican Chaplain
Interfaith Council Advisor
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (301) 585-2063
Email: cseaton14@gmail.com

Read More

No photo

Rev. Blane Young

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship Chaplain

AU Phone: x3476
Email: blane@american.edu

Read More

Quaker

Gene Throwe

Gene Throwe

Quaker Chaplain
AU Phone: x3326
Personal Phone: (703) 405-9003
Email: gthrowe@gmail.com 

Read More

Sikh

Surjit Mansingh

Surjit Mansingh

Sikh Chaplain
Adjunct Professor, School of International Service
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (301) 320-7716
Email: mansingh@american.edu

Read More

Unitarian Universalist

Charlotte Jones-Carroll

Charlotte Jones-Carroll

Unitarian Universalist Chaplain
AU Phone: x3329
Personal Phone: (301) 652-2205
Email: mailto:cjonescarroll@aol.com

Read More