Skip to main content

Claudia Myers

Associate Professor School of Communication

Claudia Myers is a full-time professor in the Film & Media Arts Division. Claudia recently wrote and directed her third feature, "Shadow Girl," starring Olivia Thirlby, Alan Ritchson and Megan Fox. The film is now in post-production. In 2014 she wrote and directed the critically acclaimed drama, "Fort Bliss" starring Michelle Monaghan and Ron Livingston. Prior to this Claudia wrote and directed "Kettle of Fish" with Matthew Modine and Gina Gershon, which premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival and won a Nickelodeon Screenwriting Award. Claudia also co-wrote "Wild Oats," which won second place at the 2004 Slamdance Screenplay Competition. The film stars Shirley MacLaine, Jessica Lange and Demi Moore and was released in 2016. Claudia's films and screenplays have won more than a dozen awards and screened at numerous festivals both domestically and internationally.


BA Yale University; MFA Columbia University's School of the Arts

SOC - School of Communication
McKinley - 233
Mondays 2-5pm, Fridays 10am-2pm
Contact Info
(202) 885-2152

Send email to Claudia Myers

For the Media
To request an interview for a news story, call AU Communications at 202-885-5950 or submit a request.
See Also
Claudia Myers Films
Hollywood Reporter: Megan Fox, Olivia Thirlby, Alan Ritchson Board Shadow Girl
Olivia Thirlby, Alan Ritchson to Star in Magic Realism Story "Shadow Girl"


  • Spring 2018

Scholarly, Creative & Professional Activities

Honors, Awards, and Fellowships


  • 2011 Hamptons Lab, "Fort Bliss"
  • 2011 Sundance Screenwriters Lab Finalist, "Fort Bliss"
  • 2009 Screenplay Festival (Finalist), "As You Are"
  • 2008 Page Screenwriting Awards (Quarter Finalist), "The Fourth Trimester"
  • Slamdance Screenwriting Competition (2nd Place), "Wild Oats"
  • Nickeolodeon Screenwriting Award, "Kettle of Fish"
  • Sundance Screenwriters Lab Finalist, "Clinical"


Fiction Film

  • TIVA-DC Best Independent Film "Fort Bliss"
  • Champs Elysees Franco-American Film Festival Audience Award "Fort Bliss"
  • Newport Beach Film Festival Outstanding Achievement in Filmmaking "Fort Bliss"
  • San Diego Film Festival Excellence in Acting Award Michelle Monaghan ("Fort Bliss")
  • GI Film Festival Best Narrative Feature "Fort Bliss"
  • Newport Beach Film Festival Audience Award, "Below the Beltway"
  • Rosebud Film & Video Festival (Best of Show), "The Kindness of Strangers"
  • New Line Cinema Development Award, "The Kindness of Strangers"
  • Angelus Awards (Finalist), "The Kindness of Strangers
  • Silver Images Film Festival (Best Film), "Buddy & Grace"
  • DC Shorts Audience Award, "Buddy & Grace"
  • National Board of Review Award, "Buddy & Grace"
  • Lifetime Student Filmmaker Award, "Buddy & Grace"



  • 2009 Regional Emmy Award Nominee, "The Long Road Back"
  • Silver Telly "The Long Road Back," documentary category
  • Classic Tellly "The Long Road Back," documentary category
  • Aurora Award (Gold) "The Long Road Back," documentary/bio



  • 2008 CODiE Award "Outside the Wire," best workforce training solution
  • Brandon Hall Excellence in Learning Award, "Outside the Wire"


Work In Progress

Television screenings


  • "Below the Beltway" on Showtime 2010-present
  • "Women at War" on the Pentagon Channel March 2009-2010
  • "The Long Road Back" on the Pentagon Channel 2008-2009
  • "Kettle of Fish" on Showtime 2007-2008


Notable Film Festival Screenings


  • Newport Beach Film Festival, "Below the Beltway" (premiere)
  • GI Film Festival, "The Long Road Back"
  • Tribeca Film Festival, "Kettle of Fish" (premiere)
  • Sundance Film Festival, "Buddy & Grace"
  • Hollywood Film Festival, "The Kindness of Strangers" (premiere)


Screenplay Readings


  • Slamdance Reading Series, "Wild Oats" 




Fiction Film

  • Writer, Director, Producer "Fort Bliss" starring Michelle Monaghan, Ron LIvingston, Oakes Fegley, Pablo Schreiber. Released domestically by Phase 4 Film. International distribution by Voltage Pictures. Also available on iTunes, Netflix and Amazon.
  • Producer, "Below the Beltway" starring Tate Donovan, Sarah Clarke, Kip Pardue, Spencer Garrett, Noah Wyle, written by Jim Wareck & Brad Weir, directed by Dave Fraunces, produced by Jim Wareck, Claudia Myers, Spencer Garrett. DVD release by Otter Creek.   
  • Writer, Director, "Kettle of Fish" starring Matthew Modine and Gina Gershon. Premiered at Tribeca Film Festival, theatrical release by Aloha Releasing, DVD release by Screen Media. Available on Netflix.



  • Writer, Producer, "Women on the Wing" about the Women Airforce Service Pilots of WWII
  • Writer, Producer, "The Long Road Back"    
  • Writer, Producer, "Women at War" 



  • Writer, "The War Inside" developed for the U.S. Army with WILL Interactive

Work In Progress

Fiction Film


  • Writer, Director "Fort Bliss" to star Michelle Monaghan 
  • Writer, "Wild Oats" to star Shirley MacLaine





AU News and Achievements