Skip to main content

Office of the Provost | Communications


Office of the Provost
Fax: 202-885-2173
Leonard, Room Lower Level

Bass, Scott A.

Office of the Provost
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8061

February 17, 2012

 TO:  American University Deans, Directors and Department Heads
 FROM:  Scott A. Bass, Provost
 SUBJECT:  New Unit Name and Dean's Search Committee


I am pleased to announce the new name for the unit that will oversee the administration of current Washington Professional Development (WPD) programs and new programs under development. Based on input from faculty, staff and others, it has been decided that this unit will be called the SCHOOL OF PROFESSIONAL AND EXTENDED STUDIES (SPExS) effective March 1, 2012. Over the next several weeks, administrative steps will be taken towards transition to this new name. Dean Phyllis Peres and Vice Provost Violeta Ettle will work with faculty and staff to identify specific items or issues affected by this name change. The individual programs within the new School, such as the Washington Semester Program, the Washington Mentorship Program, and the Graduate Gateway, will all retain their individual names. 

I would also like to take this opportunity to announce that the Search Committee for the inaugural Dean of AU’s School of Professional and Extended Studies has been formed. The members of this Committee are as follows:

  Sharon Alston, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Enrollment
  Nana An, Assistant Vice President for Budget Operations
  Jeanne Ashby, Operations Manager
  Shawn Bates, WSP faculty
  Melissa Johnson, Assistant Director of Recruitment and Admissions
  William LeoGrande, Dean , School of Public Affairs
  Diane Lowenthal, WSP faculty
  Beatrix Siman-Zakhari, WSP faculty

Dean William LeoGrande will chair this Committee and will provide further information to all Committee members regarding future meetings and activities. We anticipate a national posting of the opening of a search for a new dean shortly.