You are here: American University Provost Communications March 8, 2022

American University Office of the Provost

MemorandumMarch 8, 2022

AU Faculty and Academic Affairs Staff
Peter Starr, Provost and Chief Academic Officer
New Distinguished and Provost Associate Professors

It gives me great pleasure to announce three promotions to the rank of distinguished professor and to share with you the inaugural cohort of provost associate professors.

At its late February meeting, AU’s Board of Trustees confirmed the promotion of three extraordinary colleagues to the university’s highest rank, that of distinguished professor. This rank is awarded on a highly selective basis and honors eminent AU faculty whose scholarship has earned national and international renown. Distinguished professors have shaped their field or a significant sub-field through path-breaking original scholarship.  

Please join me in celebrating AU’s newest distinguished professors:

Kim Blankenship
Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences

Michael Brenner
History, College of Arts and Sciences

Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy
School of Education

Going forward, as you will recall, we will recognize a select group of outstanding faculty members annually with the new honorific title of provost associate professor. Colleagues awarded this title may hold it for up to four years or until they are promoted to full professor, whichever comes first. We are naming four honorees in AY2021–2022, which will allow for additional conferrals in the years to come. 

All of these colleagues were recommended by a designated committee in their school or department and by their dean.  Scholarship of exceptional importance, as measured in accordance to the weighting of the home school or department’s relevant promotion guidelines, was the primary basis for these nominations and selections, although outstanding teaching and service also weighed heavily. All tenure- or continuing appointment-line and term associate professors or associate librarians are eligible for consideration. 

Hearty congratulations to our inaugural class of provost associate professors:

Khaldoun AbouAssi
Public Administration and Policy, School of Public Affairs

Garrett Graddy-Lovelace
School of International Service

Catherine Stoodley
Neuroscience, College of Arts and Sciences

Jordan Tama
School of International Service

Many thanks and congratulations to these colleagues for their contributions to the university and to their wider fields!

Wishing you all a restful spring break.