You are here: American University Provost Office of Sponsored Programs

How can we help?

Research Central Research Support

The Office of Sponsored Programs has created a hub for all research related topics. Information on how to find funding, proposal development, proposal review and submission, award review, acceptance, and set-up, managing an award, conducting research, award close out, and training is available on this easy to use, searchable platform. To get started, use the above search box to ask your question, or just type in a keyword. You can also go directly to Research Central.

Information on Research Central is divided into nine sections based on the lifecycle of the grant.

Map of Research Central

Looking to Submit a Proposal?

Contact Your Departmental Research Administrator

Departmental Research Administrators (DRAs) have a wide range of responsibilities and functions while managing research portfolios. DRAs work at the departmental and college levels. DRAs have expertise in both pre and post award activities and are intimately involved with all facets of the research administration process. Review the Roles and Responsibilities during Proposal Development in this knowledge article.

College & Schools Contacts
Unit Contact Role Title Email
College of Arts & Sciences Kim Blankenship, Ph.D Pre/Post Award Assoc. Dean for Research blankens@american.edu
College of Arts & Sciences Irina Komives Pre-Award Director of Pre-Award Grants and Contracts komives@american.edu
College of Arts & Sciences Ian Poquet Post-Award Contract Coordinator poquet@american.edu
College of Arts & Sciences Cathy Samuels Post-Award Director, Contract Admin. csamuel@american.edu
College of Arts & Sciences Antoinette Small Post-Award Asst. Dir., Grants & Contracts Admin. antdeb@american.edu
College of Arts & Sciences Ernesto Asuncion Post-Award Contract Coordinator easuncion@american.edu
Kogod School of Business Parthiban David Pre/Post Award Sr. Assoc. Dean for Academic Affairs parthiba@american.edu
Kogod School of Business Reena Dwire Post-Award Academic Affairs Grant Coord. rdwire@american.edu
Kogod School of Business Neelum Buttar Post-Award Asst. Dir., Financial Operations nbuttar@american.edu
School of Communication Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold Post-Award Asst. Dean of Admin. & Strategic Initiatives kristipg@american.edu
School of Communication Guenet Assefa Post-Award Finance Manager guenet@american.edu
School of Education Bridget Mullan Pre-Award Pre-Award Grant and Contract Coordinator bmullan@american.edu
School of Education Sepi Davoudzadeh Post-Award Grants and Contracts Manager davoudza@american.edu
School of International Service Kathryn Agoston Pre-Award Associate Director, Research agoston@american.edu
School of International Service Sandra Martinez Post-Award Sr. Director, Finance and Admin. sisofo@american.edu
School of International Service Lela Gant Post-Award Grants and Contracts Manager gant@american.edu
Provost Claudia Lazo Post-Award Director, Finance and Administration clazo@american.edu
School of Public Affairs Colette Abichaker Pre-Award Asst. Director, WIPAR abichake@american.edu
School of Public Affairs Heather Kirkland Post-Award Asst, Dir. Fin. Ops. and Grants Mgmt. heatherk@american.edu
School of Public Affairs Joe Young Pre-Award Director, WIPAR jyoung@american.edu
University Library Michele Mikkelsen Director, Administrative Services mmikkel@american.edu
University Library Laura Neal Assistant to the University Librarian lneal@american.edu
Washington College of Law LaShana Calloway Post-Award Sr. Grant and Contract Manager calloway@wcl.american.edu
WAMU 88.5 Lynn Croneberger Pre-Award Chief Development Officer lynnc@american.edu
WAMU 88.5 Colin Eustis Post-Award Financial Analyst ceustis@american.edu

Announcements

research administrator training program

Research Administration Certification (RAC) sessions have been scheduled for FY22. Registration will be open at the end of August.

View Schedule

GAR

The GAR schedule for FY22 is now available. To be added to the GAR mailing list, please email OSP@american.edu

View Schedule

RAC Session 1: Research Administration at AU- Pre-Award Submitting Proposals I

Register