Colleges and Schools Contacts

Departmental Research Administrators (DRAs) have a wide range of responsibilities and functions while managing research portfolios. DRAs work at the departmental and college levels. DRAs have expertise in both pre- and postaward activities and are intimately involved with all facets of the research administration process.  
 

Kim Blankenship, Ph.D
Assoc. Dean for Research
blankens@american.edu

Irina Komives
Director of Pre-Award Grants and Contracts
komives@american.edu 

Julia Murray
Pre-Award Grants & Contracts Coord.
jmurray@american.edu 

Cathy Samuels
Director, Contract Admin.
csamuel@american.edu 

Antoinette Small
Asst. Dir., Grants & Contracts Admin.
antdeb@american.edu 

Ernesto Asuncion
Contract Coordinator
easuncion@american.edu 

Michele Mazzocchetti
Contract Coordinator
mazzocch@american.edu

Parthiban David
Sr. Assoc. Dean for Academic Affairs
parthiba@american.edu

Reena Dwire
Academic Affairs Grant Coord.
rdwire@american.edu 

Neelum Buttar
Asst. Dir., Financial Operations
nbuttar@american.edu

Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold
Asst. Dean of Admin. & Strategic Initiatives
kristipg@american.edu

Guenet Assefa
Finance Manager
guenet@american.edu

Bridget Mullan
Pre-Award Grant and Contract Coordinator
bmullan@american.edu

Sepi Davoudzadeh
Grants and Contracts Manager
davoudza@american.edu

David Lindgren
Asst. Director, SIS Grant Dev.
lindgren@american.edu 

Sandra Martinez
Sr. Director, Finance and Admin.
sisofo@american.edu

Lela Gant
Grants and Contracts Manager
gant@american.edu

Claudia Lazo
Director, Finance and Administration
clazo@american.edu

Dave Marcotte
Director, WIPAR
marcotte@american.edu

Colette Abichaker
Asst. Director, WIPAR
abichake@american.edu 

Edith Laurencin
Dir., Financial Operations
edithl@american.edu

Heather Kirkland
Asst, Dir. Fin. Ops. and Grants Mgmt.
heatherk@american.edu

Michele Mikkelsen
Director, Administrative Services
mmikkel@american.edu 

Laura Neal
Assistant to the University Librarian
lneal@american.edu

LaShana Calloway
Sr. Grant and Contract Manager
calloway@wcl.american.edu

Lynn Croneberger
Chief Development Officer
lynnc@american.edu 

Colin Eustis
Financial Analyst
ceustis@american.edu

Central Research Administrators- OSP Staff

Central Research Administrators serves as a central resource to support all American University research endeavors by providing guidance and stewardship for researchers and administrators. The purpose of central research administration is to provide administrative support to investigators in their pursuit of research and other scholarly activities while ensuring compliance with federal, local, organizational and sponsor regulations, term and conditions.

PRE-AWARD TEAM

Matters related to proposals prior to submission to the sponsor. Provides budget development services as needed, reviews proposal budgets for compliance with AU and federal guidelines, coordinates the AU routing process with PI, Dept. Chair, Dean and Vice Provost. Reviews proposal components for responsiveness to RFPs, handles just-in-time requests and other pre-award requests and submits proposals when institutional submission is required.

Alison Kaufman

202-885-3457
alisonk@american.edu

Unit Assignments:

  • School of Communication
  • School of International Service
  • SPExS
  • School of Public Affairs
  • University Library
  • WAMU

Karissa Dysart

202-885-3445
dysart@american.edu

Unit Assignments:

  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • Kogod School of Business
  • School of Public Affiars- JPO
  • Washington College of Law

Ashley Alexander

202-885-3449
ashleya@american.edu

Unit Assignments:

  • Center for Latin American & Latino Studies
  • Center for Teaching, Research & Learning

POST-AWARD TEAM

Negotiates award terms and conditions to ensure compliance and institutional acceptance, submits carry-forward and re-budgeting requests, obtains the signature of authorized institutional official, setup of awards in Cayuse and advise of award special terms, conditions and/or restrictions, reviews and processes non-financial award modifications, supplements and amendments, facilitates close out of awards, submits non-financial award/project reports: technical, progress and final reports when institutional submission is required.

VIEW OSP STAFF ASSIGNMENTS