You are here: American University Provost Registrar Academic Calendar Academic Calendar 2026-2027

Academic Calendar 2026-2027 Tentative dates

The academic calendar is divided into fall and spring semesters of approximately 15 weeks each and summer sessions of varying length. The last week of the fall and spring semesters is set aside for final examinations. The academic calendar for the Washington College of Law (WCL) of American University varies from this general schedule. For the full WCL academic calendar, please go to: http://www.wcl.american.edu/registrar/

The holidays and vacations observed by the university are noted below. Spring break is the week following the spring semester midterm. Classes continue until 10:40 p.m. the evening before a holiday or vacation period.

Note: The refund, add/drop/withdrawal, grade change, and final grades schedule applies to all courses with a standard schedule during a regular semester (fall/spring). Refunds, adds/drops/withdrawals, and grade changes for courses on nonstandard schedules (including MBA modules), as well as all summer session courses, are calculated proportionately, based on the percentage of the course completed. Final grades are always due 72 hours after the official end date of the course. For more information, please go to: www.american.edu/finance/studentaccounts/Refunds-for-Course-Drops-andWithdrawals.cfm. For Summer Registration and Refund Dates please go to: https://www.american.edu/summer/calendar.cfm 

Fall Semester 2026
Date Day Event
08/01/2026 Sat Payment due for fall classes
08/22/2026 - 08/30/2026 Sat - Sun All-American Welcome
08/31/2026 Mon Classes Begin (Semester Begin)
09/07/2026 Mon Labor Day; no classes; university closed
09/14/2026 Mon Last day to add a fall course, internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project
09/14/2026 Mon Last day to drop a fall course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
09/15/2026 Tue Withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
09/21/2026 Mon Last day to withdraw from a fall course for a 50% refund
09/28/2026 Mon Last day to withdraw from a fall course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
10/05/2026 Mon Schedule of Classes for Spring published
10/09/2026 - 10/11/2026 Fri - Sun All-American Weekend
10/16/2026 Fri Fall Break; no classes, university offices open
10/26/2026 Mon Spring priority registration for graduate students begins
10/31/2026 Sat Last day to apply for fall graduation
11/02/2026 Mon Spring priority registration for undergraduate students begins
11/06/2026 Fri Last day to withdraw from a fall course or change a grade option
11/13/2026 Fri Theses and dissertations due in deans’ offices for fall degree candidates
11/24/2026 Tue Tuesday classes cancelled; Friday classes meet.
11/25/2026 - 11/29/2026 Wed - Sun Thanksgiving holiday; no classes; university offices closed Thursday and Friday
12/11/2026 Fri Fall classes end
12/11/2026 Fri Theses and Dissertations Due in Registrar's Office for Fall Degree Candidate
12/12/2026 - 12/13/2026 Sat - Sun Fall Study Days; no classes
12/14/2026 - 12/19/2026 Mon - Sat Fall final examinations
12/20/2026 Sun Fall Commencement Ceremony for August and December Graduates
12/22/2026 Tue Fall Final Grades Deadline
12/23/2026 Wed Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on December Diplomas; no events associated with this date)
12/24/2026 - 01/03/2027 Thu - Sun Winter break; university offices closed
2021 Fall Intersession Calendar
Date Day Event
12/20/2026 Sun Winter Intersession classes begin
01/10/2027 Sun Winter Intersession classes end
Spring Semester 2027
Date Day Event
TBD TBD Payment Due
01/07/2027 - 01/10/2027 Thu - Sun Winter Welcome
01/11/2027 Mon Spring classes begin
01/18/2027 Mon Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; no classes, university offices closed
01/25/2027 Mon Last day to add a spring course, internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project
01/25/2027 Mon Last day to drop a spring course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
01/26/2027 Tue Withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
02/01/2027 Mon Last Day to Withdraw from Spring courses for 50% refund
02/01/2027 Mon Last day to apply for Spring Graduation
02/08/2027 Mon Last Day to Withdraw from Spring courses for 25% refund
03/01/2027 Mon Schedule of Classes for Summer and Fall published
03/07/2027 - 03/14/2027 Sun - Sun Spring break; no classes, university offices open Monday through Friday
03/19/2027 Fri Last day to withdraw from a spring course or change a grade option
03/22/2027 Mon Summer registration begins
03/24/2027 Wed Fall priority registration for graduate students begins
03/26/2027 Fri Theses and dissertations due in deans’ offices for spring degree candidates
03/29/2027 Mon Fall priority registration for undergraduate students begins
04/26/2027 Mon Spring classes end
04/26/2027 Mon Theses and dissertations due in Registrar's Office for spring degree candidates
04/27/2027 - 04/28/2027 Tue - Wed Spring Study Days; no classes
04/29/2027 - 05/05/2027 Thu-Wed Spring final examinations
05/01/2027 Sat Payment due for summer classes
05/07/2027 - 05/09/2027 Fri - Sun Commencement Weekend Activities
05/08/2027 Sat Spring Final Grades Deadline
05/09/2027 Sun Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on May Diplomas; no events associated with this date)
2Summer Semester 2027
Date Day Event
05/01/2027 Sat Payment due for summer classes
05/10/2027 Mon Summer classes begin; 7-week (A) and Online Learning I (E) sessions begin
05/17/2027 Mon First 6-week (B) and 3-week (C) sessions begin
05/23/2027 Sun Last day to add a summer internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project
05/31/2027 Mon Memorial Day; no classes, university offices closed
06/01/2027 Tue Last day to apply for Summer Graduation
06/05/2027 Sat 3-week (C) session ends
06/18/2027 Fri Juneteenth; no classes, university offices closed
06/26/2027 Sat 7-week (A), first 6-week (B), and Online Learning I (E) sessions end
06/28/2027 Mon Second 6-week (D) and Online Learning II (F) session begin
07/05/2027 Mon Independence Day; no classes, university offices closed
07/11/2027 Sun Last day to withdraw from Summer courses
07/11/2027 Sun Last day to change grade option
07/16/2027 Fri Theses and dissertations due in deans' offices for summer degree candidates
08/01/2027 Sun Payment due for fall classes
08/05/2027 Thu Theses and dissertations due in Registrar's Office for summer degree candidates
08/07/2027 Sat Second 6-week (D) session ends
08/14/2027 Sat Summer classes end; Online Learning II (F) session ends
08/14/2027 Sat End of summer sessions
08/29/2027 Sun Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on August diplomas; no event associated with this date)