Skip to main content

RGI Task Force | Working Groups

RGI Task Force Logo

Best Practices Working Group

Please note that Douglas Kudravetz is a Task Force Co-Chair.

  1. Mark Clark, Associate Professor

    KSB - Management

    Dr. Clark has expertise in high performing teams, leadership, diversity, and strategic human capital. His current research projects include work in team knowledge sharing, cybersecurity knowledge networks, team adaptation, multiteam system innovation… More

    Send email to Mark Clark

    (202) 885-1873

  2. Derrick L. Cogburn, Associate Professor

    SIS-School of Intl Service

    Send email to Derrick L. Cogburn

    (202) 885-2400

  3. Sarah Irvine Belson, Executive Director, Institute for Innovation in Education

    CAS - School of Education

    Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instructional with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with disabilities and teacher education policy. Her focu… More

    Send email to Sarah Irvine Belson

    (202) 885-3714

  4. Douglas Kudravetz, CFO, Vice President and Treasurer

    Finance & Treasurer Office of

    Douglas Kudravetz was named Chief Financial Officer, Vice President and Treasurer of American University in July 2014. As chief financial officer, he oversees the overall financial and investment management of the university. His executive responsibi… More

    Send email to Douglas Kudravetz

    (202) 885-3283

  5. Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold, Director of Projects

    SOC - School of Communication

    Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold is SOC’s Chief of Staff, working with the Dean as well as faculty and staff of the School of Communication in developing initiatives for the School’s centers, institutes, projects and campaigns, as well as providing leadership … More

    Send email to Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold

    (202) 885-2059

  6. Frank Wilson, Director Of Accounting

    Controller's Office

    Send email to Frank Wilson

    (202) 885-2844

Internal University Environmental Scan Working Group

Please note that Jonathan Tubman is a Task Force Co-Chair.

  1. William DeLone, Professor Emeritus

    Professor DeLone is a Kogod Eminent Professor of Information Technology. He has served as the Acting Dean, the Senior Associate Dean, Dean of Graduate Programs and Chair of the Department of Information Technology. He also served as Chair of American… More

  2. John Douglass, Associate Professor

    SOC - School of Communication

    John Douglass is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He has been at American for more than 30 years and through most of this time has served as director of the film and media arts division. His contributions to the Washington, DC media comm… More

    Send email to John Douglass

    (202) 885-2045

  3. Max Paul Friedman, Professor

    CAS - History

    Max Paul Friedman specializes in 20th-century U.S. foreign relations. A graduate of Oberlin College and U.C. Berkeley, he was a Woodrow Wilson Postdoctoral Fellow and has taught at Boulder, Buenos Aires, Tallahassee, and Cologne. His first book, Nazi… More

    Send email to Max Paul Friedman

    (202) 885-2154

  4. Jeffrey Hakim, Professor

    CAS - Math & Statistics

    Jeffrey Hakim’s research primarily lies within the broad mathematical areas of representation theory and harmonic analysis. Most recently, he has focused on supercuspidal representations and symmetric spaces over p-adic fields. His papers have also i… More

    Send email to Jeffrey Hakim

    (202) 885-3131

  5. Mary Eschelbach Hansen, Professor

    CAS - Economics

    Mary Eschelbach Hansen is an expert in U.S. social policy. She is widely published in the fields of child policy, bankruptcy, and economic history. Her work addresses key issues in race, gender, and economic inequality. Her research has been funded… More

    Send email to Mary Eschelbach Hansen

    (202) 885-3793

  6. Patricia Kelshian, Assistant Vice President of Risk Management and Safety Services

    Risk Mgt and Safety Services

    Send email to Patricia Kelshian

    (202) 885-3284

  7. Christopher Palmer

    SOC - School of Communication

    Chris Palmer is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He is also a speaker, author, and environmental and wildlife film producer. He has swum with dolphins and whales, come face-to-face with sharks and Kodiak bears, camped with wolf packs, an… More

    Send email to Christopher Palmer

    (202) 885-3408

  8. David Swartz, Vice President and Chief Information Officer

    OIT - Office Admin

    Dave Swartz is American University’s vice president and chief information officer. Dr. Swartz has a long history of supporting university and health care computing and networking. Before coming to American University in 2007, he was the CIO at Georg… More

    Send email to David Swartz

    (202) 885-2612

  9. Jonathan Tubman, Vice Provost for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies

    Graduate Studies, Office of

    Dr. Tubman works with departments and Colleges to develop new graduate programs and to ensure excellence in graduate education at AU. He also works with students, faculty, centers, institutes and external research partners to promote a culture of dis… More

    Send email to Jonathan Tubman

    (202) 885-3778