Championing faculty research and publications

The School of International Service (SIS) Research office promotes the scholarly efforts of our faculty with the goal of maximizing the impact and visibility of their work. We prepare and support SIS faculty as they pursue grant and fellowship funding, promote books and journal publications, and disseminate research to targeted audiences, such as policymakers, peer institutions, non-profits, and international organizations.

Grant proposal success rate increased 15 percent from 2016 to 2017

2018 Emerging Leader Award Winner Dania Hassan

Award Winner Dania Hassan

US-Pakistan Women's Council Summer Sister Dania Hassan wins the U.S. Department of State's 2018 Emerging Young Leader Award.


Sharon Weiner

Announcement ·

American U. Professor Among Winners of Prestigious Andrew Carnegie Fellowship

Read More

Recent SIS Faculty Achievements

  • Professor Ken Conca received the Al-Moumin Lectureship and Award for innovative thinking and leadership in environmental peacebuilding. 
  • Professor Amitav Acharya was named ISA International Organization Section’s Distinguished Scholar for 2018 for work and teaching in international organization study. 
  • Professor J. Ann Tickner was named ISA West's 2017 Ole R. Holsti Distinguished Scholar for exceptional scholarship, teaching, and mentorship in international studies.
  • Professors Jonathan Fox and Adam Auerbach received $350,000 from Open Society Foundation for the Accountability Research Center to conduct the project "Building Evidence, Strengthening Action for a Sustainable and Generalizable Model for Community Accountability of Health Systems in Maharashtra, India" with an Indian NGO.
  • Professor Simon Nicholson received $600,000 from the V. Kann Rasmussen Foundation for continuing funding of the Forum on Climate Engineering Assessment (FCEA). This award brings the Foundation's total funding of the FCEA to $1,450,000.
  • Professors Susanna Campbell and Chuck Call received $80,000 from United States Institute for Peace to conduct a project entitled "Reassessing Peacebuilding in Uncertain Times."
  • Professor Thespina (Nina) Yamanis received $360,000 from the National Institutes of Health to conduct research and design an intervention strategy for a project entitled "A pilot social network intervention to reduce HIV and IPV among adolescent girls."
  • Professor Mohammed Abu-Nimer received an award for a senior fellowship with the King Abdullah Bin Abdulaziz International Centre for Interreligious and Intercultural Dialogue (KAICIID).
  • Professor Johanna Mendelson Forman received $50,000 from the Mann Paller Foundation for continuing her Conflict Cuisine project.
  • Professor Jonathan Fox received $150,000 from Open Society Foundation to support Accountability Research Center.
  • Professor Miles Kahler received an award from the Council on Foreign Relations that allows him to continue in his position as Senior Fellow for Global Governance at the Council.
  • Professor Randall Henning received $146,000 from the Centre for International Governance for a project entitled "Monetary and Financial Governance."

Uncovering unexpected powers fighting unionization

Even when workers and management agree, unionization isn’t easy.

My paper "The United Auto Workers Attempts to Unionize Volkswagen, Chattanooga" won the 2017 Best Paper Competition for the Industrial and Labor Relations Review special journal series in employment relations. This research found that auto workers attempting to unionize at Volkswagen's Chattanooga factory were unable to overcome interventions by the Tennessee political establishment and anti-union advocates, as well as the differences in employment relations between Germany and the United States.