Expand AU Menu

Leadership Gifts

New Building

Alumni and Friends Provide Vision and Support for SOC's Future

The movement for the School of Communication’s new home was inspired by the Forman Challenge Fund, named for Trustee Emeritus Michael Forman, whose seed funding was matched dollar for dollar by SOC Dean’s Council members. The Forman Challenge underwrote architectural plans to re-imagine AU’s iconic McKinley Building. Now, through historic preservation and new construction, the McKinley Building is being transformed into a high-energy, high-tech, and high-touch hub for communication education, professional innovation, and scholarship.

We are grateful to the donors below who have made leadership campaign commitments by naming spaces
in the new School of Communication building as of December 10, 2013:

Anonymous in memory of Troy Anthony Davis

Gary M. Abramson SPA/BA ’68 P ’97 and Pennie M. Abramson P ’97

Laird B. Anderson SOC/MA ’73 and Florence H. Ashby

James M. Brady SOC/BA ’89 and Joan Brady

Christopher Bravacos SOC/BA ’87

Rhonda Joy Brown SOC/BA ’76

Richard L. Brown SOC/MA '79 and Marguerite B. Brown

Patrick H. Butler SOC/MA ’96 and Donna N. Butler

Alisyn Camerota SOC/BA ’88 and Tim Lewis

Jack C. Cassell SOC/BA ’77, P ’14 and Denise Cassell P ’14

Jennifer D. Collins SOC/BA ’94

David R. Drobis SOC/MA ’65 and Bobbi Drobis

Carey Marie Earle SOC/BA ’88

Michael Forman and Malsi Doyle

Noël F. Greene SOC/BA ’95

Mary McCarthy Hayford KSB/MBA '78, P '13 and Warren John Hayford, P '13

Michael Mills SOC/MA '87

Joy Thomas Moore SOC/BA ’72, SOC/MA ’73

Anthony D. Perkins SOC/BA ’81

George A. Rosenberg SOC/BA '67

Jeffrey Rutenbeck, Dean School of Communication

Jan Schaffer, J-Lab Executive Director

Rodger Streitmatter CAS/PhD ’88 and Thomas Grooms

Lyanne Lindo Wassermann SOC/MS '80

Susan W. Zirinsky SOC/BA ’74 and Joseph F. Peyronnin III



To learn more about how you can participate in the Campaign for SOC,
please contact Nada Maalouf at maalouf@american.edu.