Sufian Abulohom Adjunct Instructor

Sufian Abulohom is an independent Yemeni American filmmaker living in between Los Angeles, California and Washington, DC. He grew up in Sana’a, Yemen and moved to Falls Church, Virginia when he was 15

  sufian@american.edu

John Douglass Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

John Douglass is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He has been at American for more than 30 years and through most of this time has served as director of the film and media arts division.

  John.Stephen.Douglass@american.edu

  (202) 885-2045

Patrick Flynn Adjunct Instructor

Patrick Flynn is an award-winning filmmaker, playwright, and webseries creator based in Washington, D.C. His series I Live With This won Outstanding Series and Outstanding Writing at the 2012 L.A. Web

  pflynn@american.edu

Bagus Himawan Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Bagus Himawan is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. From New York’s high fashion runways, to a contributor for editorial magazines such as the Atlantic, Washingtonian, DC Modern Luxury, and

  iwan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2152

Peter Kimball Adjunct Instructor

Peter Kimball is an award-winning writer, filmmaker, and scholar. As a director, his short films have played at festivals around the world and won such awards as Best-of-Fest at the Rochester Internat

  pkimball@american.edu

Frida Larios Garcia Adjunct Instructor

Frida Larios is a typo-graphic artist from El Salvador (of mixed/Indigenous ancestry). She holds a Masters of Arts in Communication Design from Central Saint Martins College of Art & Design, Universit

  flarios@american.edu

Dara Padwo-Audick Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Dara is a seasoned media professional with over twenty-five years of experience across a variety of genres in the media landscape. Her genuine passion for telling impactful stories has taken her aroun

  padwoaud@american.edu

Kristian Perry Adjunct Instructor

I am a writer, animator, video editor and director with over 10 years of experience making award winning media. My work has been featured in the Smithsonian Institution, the Birthplace of Country Musi

  kperry@american.edu

Astrid Riecken Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Astrid Riecken is an award-wining photographer, based in Washington, D.C., and New York City. Since August 2016, Riecken additionally holds a position as adjunct professor at the Corcoran School of th

  ariecken@american.edu

Shaun Schroth Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Shaun oversees the Photography Labs at American. These include the darkroom, film processing, studio, and digital work areas in the Media Production Center.

  shaun@american.edu

  (202) 885-2094

Alexandra Silverthorne Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Alexandra Silverthorne is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. She uses the camera as a means to understand and explore spatial environments and encounters. Working with both analogue and digi

  silverth@american.edu

Dave Taschler Adjunct Instructor

Dave Taschler is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. After graduating from the Ringling School of Art and Design in 1987, he started working for CBN and the Family Channel in Virginia Beach i

  taschler@american.edu

Elliot Wagner Adjunct Instructor

A 20 year veteran of Discovery Communications, Elliot oversees Discovery's global international content sales business and manages a vast global sales and operations team. He is responsible for the co

  ewagner@american.edu

John Weiskopf Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

John Weiskopf teaches screenwriting at American University in the School of Communication, where he has taught in the MFA Film program eight years. He received an MFA in Film Production from UCLA wher

  weiskopf@american.edu