Gary Griffin Filmmaker in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Gary Griffin is a Filmmaker in Residence of Film and Media Arts. He is an award-winning producer and cinematographer whose work includes Autism is a World, a documentary co-produced with CNN which tel

  ggriffin@american.edu

Duncan Hill Adjunct Instructor

Duncan Madaris Hill is a photographer and filmmaker based in Washington, DC. Originally from High Point, North Carolina, Hill received his MFA in Photographic & Electronic Media from the Maryland Inst

  duncanh@american.edu

Bagus Himawan Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Bagus Himawan is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. From New York’s high fashion runways, to a contributor for editorial magazines such as the Atlantic, Washingtonian, DC Modern Luxury, and

  iwan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2152

Laura Hinson Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Laura Waters Hinson is an award-winning filmmaker and Assistant Professor in the Film and Media Arts Division of the School of Communication. Laura serves as the division’s social impact coordinator a

  hinson@american.edu

Amber Husbands Adjunct Instructor

Amber Husbands is an adjunct instructor in the Film and Media Arts division of the School of Communication. She teaches Communication Law. She is currently Vice President, Business & Legal Affairs at

  husbands@american.edu

Peter Kimball Adjunct Instructor

Peter Kimball is an award-winning writer, filmmaker, and scholar. As a director, his short films have played at festivals around the world and won such awards as Best-of-Fest at the Rochester Internat

  pkimball@american.edu

Dara Padwo-Audick Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Dara is a seasoned media professional with over twenty-five years of experience across a variety of genres in the media landscape. Her genuine passion for telling impactful stories has taken her aroun

  padwoaud@american.edu

Kristian Perry Adjunct Instructor

I am a writer, animator, video editor and director with over 10 years of experience making award winning media. My work has been featured in the Smithsonian Institution, the Birthplace of Country Musi

  kperry@american.edu

Nicholas Ray Adjunct Instructor

Nick Ray is an adjunct professor for SOC's Digital Media Skills graduate certificate, specializing in dynamic content and developing for mobile platforms. He believes mastering emerging media communic

  nray@american.edu

Adele Schmidt Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Adele Schmidt is an adjunct professorial lecturer of the Film and Media Arts Division. She is a film & video producer, director and editor who has won numerous awards in both documentary and fiction f

  adele.schmidt@american.edu

Shaun Schroth Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Shaun oversees the Photography Labs at American. These include the darkroom, film processing, studio, and digital work areas in the Mary Graydon Center

  shaun@american.edu

  (202) 885-2094

Carolyn Silvernail Adjunct Instructor

Carolyn Silvernail is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. She is a photographer and filmmaker and received her MFA in Film and Electronic Media from AU in 2018. Before that, she earned a BA

  carolyns@american.edu

Alexandra Silverthorne Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Alexandra Silverthorne is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. She uses the camera as a means to understand and explore spatial environments and encounters. As projects evolve, her photographs

  silverth@american.edu

John Weiskopf Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

John Weiskopf received an MFA in Film Production from UCLA where he was later on UCLA’s extension faculty. He produced a documentary on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome that aired on National PBS, and a second

  weiskopf@american.edu

Areeb Zuaiter Adjunct Instructor

Areeb Zuaiter is a visual storyteller who is passionate about filmmaking, storytelling and supporting rising filmmakers. Her creative work focuses on art, culture, identity and social issues with a pa

  azuaiter@american.edu