You are here: Inaugural Streitmatter Award Presented at 2017 Kappa Tau Alpha Induction

Contact Us

McKinley Building

School of Communication 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top


Inaugural Streitmatter Award Presented at 2017 Kappa Tau Alpha Induction

By  | 

Rodger Streitmatter (left) with recipient Ana Srikanth
Rodger Streitmatter (left) with award recipient Ana Srikanth (center) and Thomas Grooms.

On April 18, American University School of Communication (AU SOC) inducted nine new members into the Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA), the National Honors Society, which recognizes excellence in journalism and mass communication. SOC also awarded the first Rodger Streitmatter Journalism Award for Excellence, which will be given out annually to an outstanding senior student majoring in journalism.

Streitmatter, an SOC alumnus, former newspaper reporter, and cultural historian is a popular professor at AU. The award was created by his husband, Thomas B. Grooms, and includes $2,000 prize, a certificate, and the winner’s name engraved on a trophy that will be kept at SOC. The first winner of the Rodger Streitmatter Award for Journalism Excellence was Ana Srikanth.

2017 AU KTA Inductees, with major:
  • Katelyn (Katie) Becker, Journalism  
  • Elisha Brown, Communication Studies  
  • Sarah Hendricks, Journalism  
  • Lindsay Maizland, Journalism  
  • Megan O'Keefe, Journalism  
  • Shannon Scovel, Journalism  
  • Anagha (Ana) Srikanth, Journalism  
  • Emily Stewart, Communication Studies  
  • Vincent Salandro, Journalism (inducted as a junior)

Learn more about the BA in Journalism at SOC