IIE Faculty & Staff

Sarah Irvine Belson Interim Vice Provost for Research SOE - School of Education

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instruction with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with dis

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Danielle Gervais Sodani Director, Institute for Innovation in Education SOE - School of Education

Danielle Gervais Sodani currently serves as the Director of the Institute for Innovation and Education in the School of Education (SOE). As the director, she cultivates partnerships with educational o

  dgsodani@american.edu

  (202) 885-3744

Alida Anderson Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Alida Anderson earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park. Research and teaching interests focus on contextual factors associated with language development and l

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Elizabeth Cotter Assistant Professor CAS - Health Studies

Dr. Elizabeth Cotter is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Health Studies at American University and the Director of the Behavioral Health and Well-Being Lab. She is a licensed psychologist w

  cotter@american.edu

  (202) 885-3703

Melissa Hawkins Director, Public Health Scholars Program CAS - Health Studies

Melissa Hawkins is the Director of the Public Health Scholars Program in the Department of Health Studies at American University. Dr. Hawkins is an epidemiologist with over a decade of experience in t

  mhawkins@american.edu

  (202) 885-6252

Anne Karabell Instructor SOE - School of Education

Annie Karabell joined the Institute for Innovation in Education at the School of Education in 2019. Her research interests include early childhood literacy, reading disabilities, and inclusive instruc

  karabell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8253

Kiho Kim Professor Academic Affairs, Office of

Dr. Kim is a marine ecologist specializing in tropical coral reefs. His research focuses on understanding the role of diseases in marine ecosystems and the synergistic effects of environmental factors

  kiho@american.edu

  (202) 885-2181

Robert Shand Assistant Professor SOE - School of Education

Robert D. Shand is Assistant Professor in the School of Education at American University. He received his Ph.D. in Economics and Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. A former high sch

  rshand@american.edu

  (202) 885-6917

Anastasia Snelling Department Chair, Health Studies CAS - Health Studies

Dr. Anastasia Snelling is a professor and Chair of the Department of Health Studies at American University. She has been a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics as a registered dietitian fo

  stacey@american.edu

  (202) 885-6278

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University (AU), and an affiliate faculty member in AU's Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her res

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762