IIE Faculty & Staff

Sarah Irvine Belson Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instruction with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with dis

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Danielle Gervais Sodani Director, Institute for Innovation in Education SOE - School of Education

Danielle Gervais Sodani currently serves as the Director of the Institute for Innovation and Education in the School of Education (SOE). As the director, she cultivates partnerships with educational o

  dgsodani@american.edu

  (202) 885-3744

Alida Anderson Professor SOE - School of Education

Alida Anderson is an associate professor in the School of Education at American University. She earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park focusing on early chil

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Elizabeth Cotter Assistant Professor CAS - Health Studies

Dr. Elizabeth Cotter is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Health Studies at American University and the Director of the Behavioral Health and Well-Being Lab. She is a licensed psychologist w

  cotter@american.edu

  (202) 885-3703

Melissa Hawkins Director, Public Health Scholars Program CAS - Health Studies

Melissa Hawkins is the Director of Undergraduate Programs in the Department of Health Studies at American University. Dr. Hawkins is an epidemiologist with over a decade of experience in the applicati

  mhawkins@american.edu

  (202) 885-6252

Anne Karabell Instructor SOE - School of Education

Annie Murphy Karabell is a researcher in the Institute for Innovation in Education at the School of Education. Her research interests include early childhood literacy, reading disabilities, inclusive

  karabell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8253

Kiho Kim Professor Academic Affairs, Office of

Kiho Kim (he/him) is a Professor in the Department of Environmental Science and is the Executive Director of the Center for Teaching, Research, & Learning at American University. His research focuses

  kiho@american.edu

  (202) 885-2181

Robert Shand Assistant Professor SOE - School of Education

Robert D. Shand is Assistant Professor in the School of Education at American University. He received his Ph.D. in Economics and Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. A former high sch

  rshand@american.edu

  (202) 885-6917

Anastasia Snelling Department Chair, Health Studies CAS - Health Studies

Dr. Anastasia Snelling is a professor and Chair of the Department of Health Studies at American University. She has been a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics as a registered dietitian fo

  stacey@american.edu

  (202) 885-6278

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University (AU), and an affiliate faculty member in AU's Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her res

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762