You are here: American University School of Public Affairs About Diversity Alliance Fellows

Contact Us

Phone: (202) 885-2940

Graduate programs: spagrad@american.edu

Undergraduate programs: aupublicaffairs@american.edu

Kerwin Hall on a map

Public Affairs, School of 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top

Diversity Alliance Fellows 2021-2022


Alliance Fellows

  • Maya Escueta

    Email: mme8@duke.edu
    Host School: Duke University
    Education: PhD in Economics and Education (Teachers College, Columbia University)
    Research Interest: Early childhood development; trauma and early adversity

  • Melissa Noel

    Email: melissan@american.edu
    Host School: American University
    Education: PhD in Criminal Justice
    Research Interest: Incarceration and Family Dynamics; Emerging Adulthood; Prisoner Reentry; Race and the Criminal Justice System



Student Fellows

  • Catherine Annis

    Email: clannis@syr.edu
    Host School: Syracuse University/Maxwell
    Education: PhD in Public Administration and International Affairs
    Research Interest: Public management

  • Kelsey Arbuckle

    Email: kelsey.arbuckle@duke.edu
    Host School: Duke University
    Education: PhD Student in Public Policy concentration in Psychology
    Research Interest: Intersection of Fedearlism and Rural poverty

  • Yoon Jung Choi

    Email: ychoi16@syr.edu
    Host School: Syracuse University/Maxwell
    Education: PhD in Public Administration and International Affairs
    Research Interest: public budgeting in decision making as well as non-profits

  • Abdela Hilo

    Email: aahilo@syr.edu
    Host School: Syracuse University/Maxwell
    Education: PhD in Public Administration and International Affairs
    Research Interest: food insecurity, public health, and development

  • Adrienne Jones

    Email: acj13@duke.edu
    Host School: Duke University
    Education: PhD Student in Public Policy & Sociology
    Research Interest: Poverty and Economic Development in Rural South

  • Marayna Martinez

    Email: marayna.martinez@duke.edu
    Host School: Duke University
    Education: PhD Student in Public Policy & Political Science
    Research Interest: K-12 Education Policy, Race, Policy Feedback

  • Maria Nagawa

    Email: maria.nagawa@duke.edu
    Host School: Duke University
    Education: PhD Student in Public Policy & Political Science
    Research Interest: Governance/Bureacracies and International Aid

  • Jaelyn Nixon

    Email: jaelyn.nixon@duke.edu
    Host School: Duke University
    Education: PhD Student in Public Policy & Psychology
    Research Interest: Education Policy

  • Winston Scott

    Email: wscott@syr.edu
    Host School: Syracuse University/Maxwell
    Education: PhD in Sociology