Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies

Gill Foundation Scholarship to Support a Dissertation using Quantitative Methods

Fellowship Description:
The Gill Foundation of Texas annualy awards a $5000 scholarship for dissertation support to a Ph.D. student working on a dissertation in the areas of American Politics, Comparative Politics, Public Administration, or Policy Analysis, using quantitative methods.

The Gill Foundation of Texas was established in 1997 in Houston, Texas, to further the Gill family's interest in support of educational philanthropy. As a statement of philosophy, the Gill family has stated that "Education plays the critical role in providing opportunities for growth, development, success, lasting relationships and satisfaction in life. We are committed to giving back to the system which provided us so much opportunity for success and financial independence."

The fellowship selection committee is: Chair, Prof. James Thurber, Dept. of Government; Prof. Laura Langbein, Dept. of Public Administration; Prof. Robert Jernigan, Dept. of Math and Statistics; Prof. David Lublin, Dept. of Government; and Prof. David Karol, Dept. of Government.

For application information, please click here.

Past Winners:

2009: Michael Danielson
2006: Jeremy Lupoli
2004: David Richards
2003: Stephen Gies
2002: Gerald Rainville
2001: Alan Metelko
2000: David Levin
2000:Kevin Conway