Congress & the Presidency Journal

This publication is an interdisciplinary journal of political science and history, published by American University's Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies since 1984. The journal is now being published three times a year. Congress & the Presidency features articles on Congress, the President, the interaction between the two institutions, and national policy-making.
View latest articles

Manuscript Submission

To submit a manuscript, visit our online submission and review site:

Articles should be double-spaced throughout, using reference-in-text format, with footnotes, references, tables, and figures on separate pages. Total pages, including references and footnotes, should not exceed 40 pages (250 words per page). Congress & the Presidency follows the APSA Style Manual.

To allow for a blind review process, the manuscript itself should be anonymous and not include any information that identifies the authors or any collaborators in the work.


For subscription information please see our site at Taylor & Francis.

Editorial Team

Jeffrey Crouch, American University

Editor Emeritus
James A. Thurber, American University

Reviews & Book Editor
Adam L. Warber, Clemson University

Managing Editor
Aaron Stuvland, George Mason University

E. Scott Adler - University of Colorado
John Aldrich - Duke University
R. Douglas Arnold - Princeton University
Terri Bimes - University of California, Berkeley
Sarah Binder - George Washington University
Jon Bond - Texas A&M University
MaryAnne Borrelli - Connecticut College
Janet Box-Steffensmeier - Ohio State University
Brandice Canes-Wrone - Princeton University
David Canon - University of Wisconsin-Madison
George C. Edwards III - Texas A&M University
Diana Evans - Trinity College
C. Lawrence Evans - William and Mary University
Morris Fiorina - Stanford University
John R. Hibbing - University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Karen Hult - Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Vincent Hutchings - University of Michigan
Jeffery A. Jenkins - University of Southern California
Nancy Kassop - State University of New York, New Paltz
Keith Krehbiel - Stanford University
Frances Lee - University of Maryland
Forrest Maltzman - George Washington University
Kenneth Mayer - University of Wisconsin-Madison
Bruce Miroff - State University of New York, Albany
Vincent Moscardelli - University of Connecticut
John Owens - University of Westminster
Paul Quirk - University of British Columbia
Lyn Ragsdale - Rice University
Andrew Rudalevige - Bowdoin College
Brian F. Schaffner - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Wendy Schiller - Brown University
Patrick Sellers - Davidson College
Stephen Skowronek - Yale University
Steven S. Smith - Washington University in St. Louis
Charles Stewart, III - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Matthew Streb - Northern Illinois University
Terry Sullivan - University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Michele Swers - Georgetown University
Raymond Tatalovich - Loyola University of Chicago
Charles Walcott - Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Stephen J. Wayne - Georgetown University
Stephen Weatherford - University of California, Santa Barbara
Daniel Wirls - UC Santa Cruz
Gerald Wright - Indiana University

Contact the Journal

For questions regarding the journal, please contact Managing Editor Aaron Stuvland at

Please mail books for review consideration to Reviews & Book Editor Adam Warber

Adam Warber
232 Brackett Hall
Department of Political Science
Clemson University
Clemson, SC 29634-1354