Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu


Congratulations to the 2011 Recipients of the Alpern and Zauderer Scholarships

Recipients of the 2011 Zauderer Award

The Key Executive Leadership Programs are pleased to announce the 2011 recipients of the Anita F. Alpern and the Donald G. Zauderer scholarships, Joseph McCarthy and Richard Mach, Jr. Both scholarships are endowed through the generosity of Key Executive Leadership Programs Alumni and Friends of Key.

Joseph McCarthy is the 2011 recipient of the Donald G. Zauderer Scholarship, and is a member of Key MPA cohort 42. He is the Manager of the Area Navigation (RNAV)/Required Navigation Performance (RNP) Group with the FAA. Key Professor Carl Shapiro’s recommendation stated, “Joe has displayed leadership and academic skills that give him the potential to become an extraordinary leader.”

Richard March is the 2011 recipient of the Anita F. Alpern Scholarship, and a member of Key MPA cohort 40. He was the 2010 recipient of the Donald G. Zauderer Scholarship. Richard is the Director of Environmental Compliance and Restoration Policy under the Assistant Secretary for the Navy on Environment. Prof. Gwendolyn Sykes recommendation stated, “Mr. Mach showed outstanding leadership and humility skills during our sessions.”

Both students were honored at the Key Alumni Dinner before the prestigious Roger Jones Awards Ceremony in October.