Faculty Fellows


Khaldoun AbouAssi Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Khaldoun AbouAssi holds a PhD in public administration from the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs of Syracuse University. From 2012-2015, Dr. AbouAssi was an Assistant Professor at the

  abouassi@american.edu

  (202) 885-2509

Ernesto Castaneda-Tinoco Associate Professor CAS - Sociology

Ernesto Castañeda conducts research on migration, urban issues, health disparities, vulnerable populations, and social movements. He compares immigrant integration and ethnic political mobilization in

  (202) 885-2412

Maria De Jesus Associate Professor SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Maria De Jesus brings to AU a wealth of research and teaching experiences in the area of health inequalities, a critical area of focus in interstate and transnational relations. Her research exami

  dejesus@american.edu

Daniel Esser Associate Professor SIS - School of International Service

Professor Esser is the 2019 Distinguished Service Awardee of the AAG's Asian Geography Specialty Group and the 2015 SIS Scholar-Teacher of the Year. The director of SIS's Olson Scholars program and a

  esser@american.edu

  (202) 885-1892

Lewis Faulk Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Lewis Faulk is an Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy in the School of Public Affairs at American University. Dr. Faulk is a Fellow of the Metropolitan Policy Center at American Un

  faulk@american.edu

  (202) 885-6384

Carolyn Gallaher Senior Associate Dean SIS - School of International Service

I do research in two distinct areas—organized violence by non-state actors and urban politics In the first area, on which I have spent more time, I examine the politics, internal dynamics, and patter

  caroleg@american.edu

Sonya Grier Professor KSB - Marketing

Professor Grier is an interdisciplinary scholar with diverse expertise across private, government, and non-profit sectors. Her research examines marketplace topics related to race, with a focus on enh

  griers@american.edu

  (202) 885-1971

Bradley Hardy Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Public Administration and Policy SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Bradley Hardy is an Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy at American University, where he also serves as department chair. He is a nonresident senior fellow in Economic Studies at t

  hardy@american.edu

  (202) 885-3881

Lallen T. Johnson Assistant Professor SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Lallen T. Johnson is a social scientist that studies how crime and justice outcomes vary across urban space. He is particularly concerned with how social structural and institutional processes facilit

  johnsonl@american.edu

  (202) 885-6551

Jocelyn Johnston Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Johnston’s current research focuses on government contracting, public management, and intergovernmental programs and policy. Her publications can be seen in such scholarly journals as the Jo

  johnston@american.edu

  (202) 885-2608

Daniel Kerr Associate Professor CAS - History

Daniel Kerr is the director of American University's Humanities Truck program and the associate director of its public history program. He is the president-elect of the Oral History Association. Ke

  kerr@american.edu

  (202) 885-2161

Jordanna Matlon Assistant Professor SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Matlon is an urban sociologist interested in questions of race and belonging in Africa and the African diaspora, and the ways “blackness” as a signifier – and in its intersection with gender, clas

  jcmatlon@american.edu

  (202) 885-6720

Taryn Morrissey Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Dr. Morrissey is an SPA Dean's Scholar Associate Professor. Her work centers on examining and improving public policies for vulnerable children. In 2020, she is a Senior Fellow at the Center for Ameri

  morrisse@american.edu

  (202) 885-6323

Jane Palmer Professorial Lecturer SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Dr. Jane Palmer is the faculty director of the Community-Based Research Scholars program. In this role, she oversees a living-learning community of first year students who learn how to conduct communi

  jpalmer@american.edu

  (202) 885-3118

David Pike Professor CAS - Literature

Professor Pike is Chair of the Department of Literature (June 2016-May 2022). His most recent book is Canadian Cinema since the 1980s: At the Heart of the World (U of Toronto P, 2012). He is the autho

  dpike@american.edu

  (202) 885-2996

Malini Ranganathan Associate Professor SIS - School of International Service

Dr Ranganathan serves as the Interim Faculty Director of the Antiracist Research and Policy Center and is an associate professor at American University. She is a critical urban geographer with a broad

  malini@american.edu

Brenda Smith Professor WCL - Washington College of Law

Brenda V. Smith is the Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs and professor at the Washington College of Law, where she is the Co-Director of the Community Economic Development Law Cli

  bvsmith@american.edu

  (202) 274-4261

Benjamin Stokes Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Benjamin Stokes is a civic media scholar, game designer, and director of The Playful City Lab. He is also an Assistant Professor in the School of Communication, and at the AU Game Lab. Previously, he

  bstokes@american.edu

  (202) 885-2066