You are here: American University School of Public Affairs News 7th Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium Winners Announced

Contact Us

Kerwin Hall on a map

AU School of Public Affairs 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top


7th Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium Winners Announced

UGRS Winners Announced

The School of Public Affairs held the 7th Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium held on Wednesday April 22, 2015. The Symposium provides undergraduates the opportunity to present their original and scholarly work before their colleagues, faculty, and staff. This year 42 undergraduates presented a total of 19 presentations and posters.

The winners and their faculty advisors are listed below.

Best Poster (tie)

Emily Horowitz, Senior, CLEG major
“Conveying Reproductive Rights through Different Lenses: A Critical Analysis of Abortion Access in New York State Prisons”

Rosy Tamam, Senior, Political Science and Law & Society double major
“Comparative Treatment of Hate Speech”

Best Presentation: Politics & Political Theory

Sonia Ledwith, Senior, Political Science major
“The Effects of Electoral Competition on Minority Party Turnout”
Faculty Advisors: Professor Antoine Yoshinaka and Professor Kimberly Cowell-Meyers

Best Presentation: Public Policy

David Shadburn, Senior, Political Science major
“Messaging to Reduce Residential Energy Consumption: A Literature Review”
Faculty Advisor: Professor Daniel Fiorino and Professor Kimberly Cowell-Meyers

Best Presentation: Foreign Policy

Peter Leach, Senior, Political Science major
“Rebalancing Act: U.S. Public Diplomacy in the ‘Pacific Century’”
Faculty Advisors: Professor Kimberly Cowell-Meyers and Professor Pek Heng-Blackburn

Best Presentation: Policing, The Courts and The Justice System

Julia Hamilton, Senior, Law & Society major
“Rape in Marriage: How Women Came to Have Their Own Legal Identity”
Faculty Advisors: Professor Douglas Klusmeyer and SPA Librarian Olivia Ivey

Best Presentation: Community-Based Research and Public Policy

Group consisted of the following Community Based Research Scholars:

  • Gabriel Unruh, Sophomore, International Studies major
  • William Leonard, Sophomore, CLEG major
  • MacKenzie Demore, Sophomore, International Studies major
  • Jessica Hoag, First Year, CLEG major
  • Terence Htoo, First Year, Political Science major
  • Nicole Gaudette, First Year, Art History major

“Immigrant Experience in the District of Columbia”
Faculty Advisor: Jane Palmer