Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

SPA News

Government and Politics

Federal Leadership Award Nominations Sought

American University's School of Public Affairs announces the call for nominations for the 2009 Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership.

The annual award, presented to outstanding federal leaders nominated from all agencies and across the nation, recognizes two public servants in the federal government whose work is marked by extraordinary effectiveness during a career, or in a single mission achievement.

The criteria for award recipients are:

  • superior leadership with outstanding organizational achievement
  • a strong commitment to effective continuity of government by promoting career development of future federal managers and executives

Nominees must be members of the Senior Executive Service (SES). Nominations will be accepted until May 22. To view the nomination procedure, please visit the School of Public Affairs Web site.

Nominations may be made by presidential and other administration appointees. Self-nominations are not accepted. Award recipients, chosen by the Roger W. Jones Selection Committee, will be honored in a special awards ceremony in fall 2009 and will each receive $2,500.

Members of the selection committee affiliated with the federal government are Melissa J. Allen, former assistant secretary of administration for the Department of Transportation; Charles Bowsher, former comptroller general of the United States; Mortimer Downey, former deputy secretary for the Department of Transportation; Harold B. Finger, former associate administrator for management for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration; David M. Walker, former comptroller general of the United States; Jacquelyn L. Williams-Bridgers, managing director of international affairs and trade for the Government Accountability Office; Frances Fragos Townsend (BA/SPA ’82), former assistant to President Bush for homeland security and counterterrorism and former chair of the Homeland Security Council; John Hill, CEO, Federal City Council; and James C. Miller III, former director of the U.S. Office of Management and Budget.