Expand AU Menu

Student Resources

SPA Undergraduate Research Symposium

The SPA Undergraduate Research Symposium provides a forum for undergraduate students to present their original scholarly and creative work before colleagues, friends, and faculty. Cash awards are given for the best presentations, and top students will be recognized at the annual SPA Awards Ceremony.

The Seventh Annual SPA Undergraduate Research Symposium was held on Wednesday, April 22 in MGC 2-5. This year 42 undergraduates presented a total of 19 presentations and posters at the Symposium. The list of winners can be found here and the complete Symposium schedule can be found here.

Interested in presenting for the Eighth Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium? Information about how to apply will be posted in early 2016. Please email aupublicaffairs@american.edu if you have any questions.

The symposium is open to all levels of undergraduate students, from freshmen to seniors. To apply, you only need to be enrolled in a course in SPA during AY 2014-2015. Students from CAS, KSB, SIS, and SOC are welcome to present their work if it was done for an SPA course. Please be aware that the symposium uses the term “research” to include creative and performance work as well as formal research.

You can apply as a group or as an individual by registering online here. You will be asked to identify your SPA faculty sponsor and submit a 100-125 word description of your research project on the registration page.

If you are joining us from off campus, you will find helpful information for your visit at www.american.edu/maps.

Please email aupublicaffairs@american.edu if you have any questions.

Spring 2015 Awardees

Best Poster (tie)

  • Emily Horowitz: "Conveying Reproductive Rights through Different Lenses: A Critical Analysis of Abortion Access in New York State Prisons"
  • Rosy Tamam: "Comparative Treatment of Hate Speech"

Best Presentation: Politics & Political Theory

  • Sonia Ledwith: "The Effects of Electoral Competition on Minority Party Turnout"

Best Presentation: Public Policy

  • David Shadburn: "Messaging to Reduce Residential Energy Consumption: A Literature Review"

Best Presentation: Foreign Policy

  • Peter Leach: “Rebalancing Act: U.S. Public Diplomacy in the ‘Pacific Century’”

Best Presentation: Policing, The Courts and The Justice System

  • Julia Hamilton: “Rape in Marriage: How Women Came to Have Their Own Legal Identity”

Best Presentation: Community Based Research and Public Policy

  • Group project (Gabriel Unruh, William Leonard, MacKenzie Demore, Jessica Hoag, Terence Htoo, Nicole Guadette): “Immigrant Experience in the District of Columbia”