You are here: American University Board of Trustees By Class

Current Trustees by Class

According to the American University Bylaws (Article III, Section 2), Trustees other than ex officio members and members described in Section 5 of this Article III shall be divided into three approximately equal classes. Each year, one of the classes shall go out of office and successors be elected.

Class of 2021

Gaurdie Banister Jr.
Stephanie M. Bennett-Smith
Jack C. Cassell
Mehdi Heravi
Margery Kraus
Betsy A. Mangone
Maril Gagen MacDonald
Arthur J. Rothkopf
Jeffrey A. Sine
Wesley G. Bush (Class of 2024)
Maria Otero (Class of 2024)

Class of 2022

Janice Menke Abraham
Gary M. Abramson
Gina F. Adams
Pamela M. Deese
Marc N. Duber
Thomas A. Gottschalk
Michael W. Kempner
Gerald Bruce Lee
Alan L. Meltzer
Peter L. Scher

Class of 2023

Hani M.S. Farsi
Charles H. Lydecker
Fernando Lewis Navarro
David Trone

Ex-Officio Trustees

Sylvia M. Burwell
The president of American University holds a non-voting ex-officio seat on the Board.

Reverend Greg Bergquist
The general secretary of the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church holds an ex-officio seat on the Board.

Bishop LaTrelle Easterling
The bishop of the Baltimore-Washington Conference of the United Methodist Church holds an ex-officio seat on the Board.

John Q. Heywood; Elizabeth A. Worden
Faculty trustees hold their non-voting positions on the Board from their executive position on the university's Faculty Senate. That is, the chair of the Faculty Senate holds a two-year term on the Board of Trustees, and the immediate past chair holds a one-year term on the Board.

Student Trustee & Trustee-Elect

Benjamin M. Holtzman (Trustee) and Anusha S. Mannam (Trustee-Elect)
Two full-time University students will hold non-voting positions on the Board, nominated by the Trusteeship Committee from among one or more candidates submitted to the Board by the University's undergraduate Student Government, the Washington College of Law Student Bar Association and the University's Graduate Leadership Council.

Updated January 2021