You are here: American University School of Public Affairs News Five from SPA Named Presidential Management Fellows

Contact Us

Kerwin Hall on a map

AU School of Public Affairs 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top


Five from SPA Named Presidential Management Fellows

SPA Students Named Presidential Management Fellows
From Left: Saidah Bennett, Christina Caryl, Richard Driscoll, Hina Gir, and Josie Mace

Four students and an alumna of the School of Public Affairs have been named Presidential Management Fellows.

The finalists are Saidah Bennett, Richard Driscoll and Josie Mace, all candidates for master’s degrees in public policy; Christina Caryl, a candidate for a master’s degree in public administration; and Hina Gir, an undergraduate alumna of SPA and an office coordinator in the Department of Justice, Law & Criminology.

The program offers finalists two-year, salaried leadership positions in a range of federal agencies, as well as additional training and development opportunities.

“The School of Public Affairs has long been a top producer of Presidential Management Fellows,” said Alison Jacknowitz, associate chair of the Department of Public Administration and Policy. “I am thrilled with these results and I congratulate the students on their hard work.”

Finalists for the Presidential Management Fellows program are awarded a year of fast-track hiring eligibility for fellowship positions at federal agencies. All of American University’s finalists from last year, who did not withdraw due to a comparable outside job offer, currently hold positions as fellows at federal agencies.

Thirty-four American University students received the fellowships this year, a record number for the university and tying it with George Washington University for second-most in the nation.

SPA students participating in the program received advice and coaching from American University alumni fellows and Career Center staff after undergoing a rigorous evaluation process.

“We provide intensive coaching during all three phases of the selection process,” said Robert SanGeorge, a graduate career advisor for the School of Public Affairs and the university’s lead advisor of Presidential Management Fellows.

President Neil Kerwin and Ann Kerwin will honor this year’s finalists at their annual reception on Thursday, May 1.