You are here: American University School of Public Affairs News SPA Students, Faculty and Staff Earn Numerous Awards

Contact Us

Kerwin Hall on a map

AU School of Public Affairs 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top


SPA Students, Faculty and Staff Earn Numerous Awards

Student award winners

A number of students, faculty and staff from across the School of Public Affairs have been honored for their academic and service achievements over the past year.

Four students from the School of Public Affairs received university-wide awards for their academic and service contributions to the American University community.

  • Zoé Orfanos: Outstanding Scholarship at the Undergraduate Level
  • Ki’tay Davidson: Bruce Hughes Award for outstanding service to the University community
  • Abby Finn: Kinsman-Hurst Award for her work as a leader in AU student government
  • Allie Cannington: Harold Johnson Award for promoting understanding and acceptance of cultural and racial diversity at the university

Four students and an alumna of the School of Public Affairs have been named Presidential Management Fellows:

  • Saidah Bennett
  • Richard Driscoll 
  • Josie Mace
  • Christina Caryl 
  • Hina Gir

Two undergraduate students will travel to the United Kingdom on Fulbright Summer Institute Grants:

  • Ian Gansler will study “Leadership and Sustainability” at the University of Exeter.
  • Matt Waskiewicz will explore the influence of Polish culture on Welsh society at the Universities of Cardiff, Bangor and Aberystwyth in Wales.

Earlier in the year, SPA graduate students also earned the following honors: 

And SPA faculty and staff earned the following recognitions:

The School of Public Affairs presented the following awards at its annual ceremony:

Faculty Awards

Outstanding Scholarship: Lynn Addington  
Outstanding Teaching, Term: Borden Flanagan
Outstanding Teaching, Adjunct: Thomas Williams
Outstanding Faculty Service: Kimberly Cowell-Meyers
Outstanding Teaching, Tenure-line: Seth Gershenson
Outstanding Collaboration: Educational Policy Committee
Karen Baehler, Chair
Joanne Savage
Tom Merrill
Bradley Hardy
Adrienne LeBas
Gregg Ivers
Brad Bartholomew
Chana Barron
Staff Award for Outstanding Customer Service: Kanako Mori 

Student Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate Scholarship Award: Aubrey Rose
Outstanding Graduate Scholarship Award: Michael Hayes
Outstanding Undergraduate Service: Deon Jones
Outstanding Graduate Service: Melissa Blanco