Expand AU Menu

Department of Public Administration & Policy


  • SPA: Public Administration
    Ward, Room

    Graduate programs: spagrad@american.edu

Mailing Address
Roger Jones

The Roger W. Jones Award

Recognizing public servants whose careers are marked by extraordinary effectiveness.

Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership

To recognize exceptional leadership among persons who have devoted themselves to a life of public service, the School of Public Affairs annually grants the Roger W. Jones Award to two federal career executives who have demonstrated the values promoted by Roger W. Jones. More than 70 distinguished executives have been recognized since the university initiated the award 35 years ago.

2013 Ceremony Photos

2012 Event video

Roger W. Jones Selection Committee

Mortimer Downey, Chair
Senior Advisor
Parsons Brinckerhoff

David Chu
Institute for Defense Analyses

Robert Cleary
Emeriti Faculty
American University

David Pekoske
Group President
National Security Group A-T Solutions Inc.

Barbara Romzek
Dean, School of Public Affairs
American University

Charles Rossotti
Senior Advisor
The Carlyle Group

Gwen Sykes
U.S. Secret Service

Robert Tobias
Director, Key Executive Leadership Programs
American University


Nomination Procedures

The Application is now closed for 2014.

Online Application


About the 2013 awardees

David A Bray

David A. Bray
Chief Information Officer, Federal Communications Commission

David A. Bray sees opportunities to build solutions, consensus, and coalitions where others see problems. This is one of his many skills that propelled him to his current position at the FCC.

Brian Persons

Brian Persons
Assistant Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Warfare Systems, United States Department of the Navy

Brian J. Persons is a master at balancing technical expertise with strategic vision. Such talent is vital in his current role at the Navy, where he serves as the principal adviser to the chief of naval operations on warfare requirements and integration of naval warfare systems.

Previous award winners »