You are here: American University Giving Cyrus A. Ansary Medal

Cyrus A. Ansary Medal

2019 recipient Susan Zirinsky, ’74, H ’09, is pictured with AU President Sylvia M. Burwell and Board of Trustees Chair Marc Duber.

One of American University’s highest honors, the Cyrus A. Ansary Medal is awarded to members of the university community who have: displayed extraordinary commitment and leadership both within the university and within their professions; and who hold notable accomplishments, either in service to AU or for the benefit of the community at large. The award is named for American University Board Chairman Emeritus Cyrus Ansary.

Past Recipients

2022 Gary D. Cohn ’82
2020 Lonnie G. Bunch III ’74, MA ’76
2019 Susan Zirinsky ’74, H ’09
2018 Susan E. Rice
2017 Mark Bergel MS ’87, PhD ’96
2012 Hani M.S. Farsi ’92
2011 Alan H. Fleischmann ’87
2009 Esther T. Benjamin MA ’92, MA ’95
2008 Angie Reese-Hawkins ’79
2007 Kermit A. Washington ’73
2006 Alan L. Meltzer ’21
1998 J. Willard Marriott Jr. H ’87
1997 Sondra D. Bender
1994 Sheldon W. Fantle
1994 Michael R. Forman
1993 Edward Carlough Jr. ’55
1992 Robert P. Kogod ’62, H ’00
1991 Sylvia Kay Greenberg
1991 Jack Kay
1991 Eric A. Friedheim ’29
1990 David Lloyd Kreeger H ’82
1990 Helen Palmer Kettler ’39

H honorary degree recipient

Giving Societes

American University recognizes donors for their support of the university with three giving societies, the President's Circle, the 1893 Society, and the Helen Palmer Kettler Society.

Learn More