Inclusive Excellence

Yoo-Jin Kang

Health Promotion & Advocacy

Yoo-Jin Kang is a co-chair and founder of American University’s People of Color (POC) Faculty and Staff Affinity group. The affinity group was recognized as a campus organization in August 2019 to create a warm environment for faculty and staff of color at AU. The POC provides a safe space for people of color to discuss issues on campus including AU’s culture and creating authentic relationships between individuals, address implicit biases that persist on campus, and advocate for inclusive polices to promote recruitment and retention of faculty and staff of color.

Yoo-Jin engages with the other affinity groups by attending their holiday parties and participating in their days of remembrance. Her actions have created unity by celebrating our differences and coming together as a community.

In addition to her work with the POC affinity group, Yoo-Jin exemplifies inclusive excellence in everything she does. Yoo-Jin has guest taught AUx courses and health promotion courses with faculty, created personalized trainings for trauma-informed alcohol and other drug interventions and self-care for First Year Advising staff, Staff Con, and University Conference and Guest Services student staff. She presented at AhealthyU’s Luncheon Learn about self-care with faculty and staff, serves on multiple committees, Staff Council, and is as an AU Connects member. Yoo-Jin also sends the weekly positivity and gratitude emails within the Office of Campus Life, which features a staff member who shares what they are grateful for and what brings them joy.

Congratulations to Yoo-Jin Kang for being selected as the recipient of the 2020 Inclusive Excellence Staff Award and thank you for all that you do for American University.

Inclusive Excellence Award Nominees

Congratulations to the 2020 Inclusive Excellence Award nominees!

Although the nominees were not selected for this year's award, their outstanding work did not go unnoticed. Thank you for all you do!

  • Roshan Abraham
  • Sumaira Akber
  • Vanessa Anthony
  • Senem Bakar
  • Justin Bernstine
  • Rachel Brown
  • Camille Clark
  • Jacquelin Darby
  • Karin Edwards
  • Jacqueline Garcia
  • Caroline Hausmann
  • Sarah Jones
  • Yoo-Jin Kang
  • Monica Morin
  • Esther Philip
  • Rachel Sawyer
  • Aja Simpson Zulfiqar
  • Darien Smith
  • Andrew Toczydlowski
  • Adam Whitehurst