AU Seeks a Provost for a New Era

As American University marks its 125th anniversary, we are seeking a provost and chief academic officer who embodies the values of this institution while envisioning a future that places an emphasis on excelling at both research and teaching — inside and outside the classroom. We are looking for a bold and innovative leader, one who sees that excellence throughout the university comes through a culture that is inclusive and unites the entire university, across schools and programs, in its pursuit of our highest aspirations. In short, we seek a leader who will build on AU's strong foundation and help our university achieve even greater heights as we enter a new era.


The Search Committee will meet regularly, beginning in May, while campus stakeholders are convened for input. It is expected candidate interviews will take place in the fall semester.

The AU community will have several opportunities to provide input on the search.

  • October-November: Campus stakeholder consultations with round 2 candidates

  • September: Campus stakeholder consultations in the Letts Formal Lounge
    Students: September 4, 8-9 p.m.
    Staff: September 5, 11 a.m.-12 p.m.
    Faculty: September 5, 2-3 p.m.

  • May 1-2: Meeting with Faculty Senate and open forum with staff

  • April 16-17: Open forum with faculty and students

Keep It Coming

Thank you to those who have taken time to attend listening sessions. The search committee hopes the AU community will stay engaged with this process and continue to reach out with feedback, recommendations, and comments.

Email Search Committee
Email Search Firm