You are here: Academic Calendar 2018-2019

Academic Calendar 2018-2019 Tentative Dates

The academic calendar is divided into fall and spring semesters of approximately 15 weeks each and summer sessions of varying length. The last week of the fall and spring semesters is set aside for final examinations. The academic calendar for the Washington College of Law (WCL) of American University varies from this general schedule, and its key dates are noted below in italics. For the full WCL academic calendar, please go to: http://www.wcl.american.edu/registrar/

The holidays and vacations observed by the university are noted below. Spring break is the week following the spring semester midterm. Classes continue until 10:40 p.m. the evening before a holiday or vacation period.

Note: The refund/withdrawal schedule applies to all courses with a standard schedule during a regular semester (fall/spring). Refunds/withdrawals for courses on nonstandard schedules (including MBA modules), as well as all summer session courses, are calculated proportionately, based on the percentage of the course completed. For more information, please go to: www.american.edu/finance/studentaccounts/Refunds-for-Course-Drops-andWithdrawals.cfm.
8/1/2018 Wed Payment due for fall classes
8/18/2018 - 8/26/2018 Sat Welcome Week (Sat - Sun)
8/20/2018 Mon WCL: Fall classes begin
8/24/2018 Fri Last day to register for fall without a late fee
8/27/2018 Mon Fall classes begin
8/27/2018 Mon Late registration (with $100 fee) begins
8/31/2018 Fri Late registration for fall ends
9/3/2018 Mon Labor Day; no classes, university offices closed
9/5/2018 Wed Mathematics Equivalency Examination
9/10/2018 Mon Last day to add a fall course, internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project
9/10/2018 Mon Last day to drop a fall course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
9/17/2018 Mon Last day to drop a fall course for a 50% refund
9/24/2018 Mon Last day to drop a fall course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
10/1/2018 Mon Schedule of Classes for Spring published.
10/1/2018 Mon Early warning notices due in Registrar's Office
10/12/2018 Fri Fall Break; no classes, university offices open
10/19/2018 - 10/21/2018 Fri All-American Weekend (Fri-Sun)
10/22/2018 Mon Spring priority registration for graduate students begins.
10/27/2018 Sat Writing Proficiency Examination
10/29/2018 Mon Spring priority registration for undergraduate students begins.
10/31/2018 Wed Last day to apply for fall graduation
11/2/2018 Fri Last day to drop a fall course or change a grade option (end of the 10th week)
11/9/2018 Fri Theses and dissertations due in deans’ offices for fall degree candidates
11/20/2018 Tue Tuesday classes cancelled; Friday classes meet.
11/21/2018 - 11/25/2018 Wed Thanksgiving holiday; no classes; university offices closed Thursday and Friday
11/29/2018 Thu WCL: Fall classes end.
12/4/2018 Tue WCL: Examinations begin
12/7/2018 Fri Fall classes end. Theses and dissertations due in Registrar's Office for fall degree candidates
12/8/2018 - 12/9/2018 Sat Fall Study Days (Sat-Sun)
12/10/2018 - 12/15/2018 Mon Fall final examinations (Mon-Sat)
12/15/2018 Sat WCL: Examinations end
12/16/2018 Sun Fall Commencement Ceremony for August and December graduates
12/20/2018 Thu All full-term fall classes final grades due.
12/21/2018 Fri WCL: Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on December diplomas; no event associated with this date)
12/24/2018 - 1/1/2019 Mon Winter break; university offices closed (Mon - Tues)
12/31/2018 Mon Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on December diplomas; no event associated with this date)
1/7/2019 Mon WCL: Fall classes begin
1/10/2019 - 1/13/2019 Thu Winter Welcome (Thu-Sun)
1/11/2019 Fri Last day to register for spring without a late fee
1/14/2019 Mon Spring classes begin
1/14/2019 Mon Late registration (with $100 fee) begins
1/18/2019 Fri Late registration for spring ends
1/23/2019 Wed Mathematics Equivalency Examination
1/28/2019 Mon Last day to add a spring course, internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project
1/28/2019 Mon Last day to drop a spring course for a 100% refund and without a "W" recorded
2/1/2019 Fri Last day to apply for spring graduation
2/2/2019 Sat Writing Proficiency Examination
2/4/2019 Mon Last day to drop a spring course for a 50% refund
2/11/2019 Mon Last day to drop a spring course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
2/18/2019 Mon Early warning notices due in Registrar’s Office
2/25/2019 Mon Schedule of Classes for Summer and Fall published.
3/10/2019 Sun Spring break (Sun-Sun); no classes, university offices open Monday through Friday
3/22/2019 Fri Last day to drop a spring class or change a grade option (end of 10th week)
3/23/2019 Sat Writing Proficiency Examination
3/25/2019 Mon Summer registration begins.
3/27/2019 Wed Fall priority registration for graduate students begins.
3/29/2019 Fri Theses and dissertations due in deans’ offices for spring degree candidates
4/3/2019 Wed Fall priority registration for undergraduate students begins.
4/22/2019 Mon WCL: Last day of classes (includes make-ups for holidays)
4/29/2019 Mon Spring classes end
4/29/2019 Mon Theses and dissertations due in Registrar's Office for spring degree candidates
4/30/2019 Tue Spring study day; no classes
5/1/2019 Wed Payment due for summer classes
5/1/2019 - 5/7/2019 Wed Spring final examinations (Wed - Tues)
5/6/2019 Mon WCL: Examinations begin
5/10/2019 Fri All full-term spring classes final grades due.
5/10/2019 - 5/12/2019 Fri Commencement Weekend Activities (Fri - Sun)
5/11/2019 Sat WCL: Examinations end
5/12/2019 Sun Official Degree Award Date
5/19/2019 Sun WCL: Spring Commencement Ceremony
5/19/2019 Sun WCL: Official Degree Award Date
5/1/2019 Wed Payment due for summer classes
5/13/2019 Mon 7-week (A) and Online Learning I (E) sessions begin
5/20/2019 Mon First 6-week (B) and 3-week (C) sessions begin
5/24/2019 Fri Last day to add a summer internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project
5/27/2019 Mon Memorial Day; no classes, university offices closed
5/28/2019 Tue WCL: First day of classes
06/01/2019 Sat Last day to apply for summer graduation
6/6/2019 Thu 3-week (C) session ends
6/8/2019 Sat Writing Proficiency Examination
6/27/2019 Thu 7-week (A), first 6-week (B), and Online Learning I (E) sessions end
7/1/2019 Mon Second 6-week (D) and Online Learning II (F) session begin
7/4/2019 Thu Independence Day; no classes, university offices closed
7/19/2019 Fri Theses and dissertations due in deans' offices for summer degree candidates
8/1/2019 Thu WCL: Last day of classes
8/1/2019 Thu Payment due for fall classes
8/8/2019 Thu Second 6-week (D) session ends
8/8/2019 Thu Theses and dissertations due in Registrar's Office for summer degree candidates
8/9/2019 Fri WCL: Examinations end
8/15/2019 Thu Online Learning II (F) session ends; end of summer sessions
8/25/2019 Sun Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on August diplomas; no event associated with this date)
8/22/2019 Thu WCL: Official Degree Award Date (date that appears on August diplomas; no event associate with this date)