You are here: American University Provost Registrar Academic Calendar Academic Calendar 2027-2028 for Online Programs in SIS

Academic Calendar 2027-2028 for Online Programs in SIS

The Academic Calendar for Online Programs in SIS is divided into four terms. The Fall 1 term is restricted to only incoming students; no cross-enrollments are allowed across the Fall 1 and Fall 2 terms. Standard courses are delivered over 15 weeks.

The add/drop/withdrawal and refund schedule applies to all courses with a standard schedule during a term. Add/drop/withdrawal, refund, and grade change dates for courses on nonstandard schedules are calculated proportionately, based on the percentage of the course completed. Please visit the Course Drop and Withdrawals page for more information. A student’s state of residency may determine refund eligibility and amounts. Final grades are always due 72 hours after the official end date of the course.

Fall 1
Date Day Event
08/02/2027 Mon Fall 1 classes begin
08/02/2027 Mon Fall 1 tuition balance due
08/15/2027 Sun Last day to add a fall 1 course
08/15/2027 Sun Last day to drop a fall 1 course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded
08/16/2027 Mon Fall 1 withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
08/22/2027 Sun Last day to withdraw from a fall 1 course for a 50% refund
08/29/2027 Sun Last day to withdraw from a fall 1 course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
09/06/2027 Mon Labor Day; no classes, university offices closed
10/10/2027 Sun Last day to withdraw from a fall 1 course or change a grade option
11/14/2027 Sun Fall 1 classes end
Fall 2
08/02/2027 Mon Fall 2 tuition balance due
08/27/2027 Fri Fall 2 immersion program begins (non-standard refund table)
09/06/2027 Mon Fall 2 classes begin
09/06/2027 Mon Labor Day; no classes, university offices closed
09/19/2027 Sun Last day to add a fall 2 course
09/19/2027 Sun Last day to drop a fall 2 course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded
09/20/2027 Mon Fall 2 withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
09/26/2027 Sun Last day to withdraw from a fall 2 course for a 50% refund
10/03/2027 Sun Last day to withdraw from a fall 2 course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
11/14/2027 Sun Last day to withdraw from a fall 2 course or change a grade option
11/25/2027 Thu Thanksgiving holiday; no classes, university offices closed Thursday and Friday
12/19/2027 Sun Fall 2 classes end
12/19/2027 Sun Fall Commencement Ceremony for August and December graduates
12/23/2027 Thu Official Degree Award Date (the date that appears on December diplomas; no event associated with this date)
12/24/2027 - 01/02/2028 Fri - Sun Winter Break; University Offices Closed
Spring
01/10/2028 Mon Spring classes begin
01/10/2028 Mon Spring tuition balance due
01/17/2028 Mon Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; no classes, university offices closed
01/23/2028 Sun Last day to add a spring course
01/23/2028 Sun Last day to drop a spring course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded
01/24/2028 Mon Spring withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
01/30/2028 Sun Last day to withdraw from a spring course for a 50% refund
02/06/2028 Sun Last day to withdraw from a spring course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
03/19/2028 Sun Last day to withdraw from a spring course or change a grade option
04/23/2028 Sun Spring classes end
05/12/2028 - 05/14/2028 Fri - Sun Commencement Weekend Activities
05/14/2028 Sun Official Degree Award Date
Summer
04/24/2028 Mon Summer immersion programs begin (non-standard refund table)
05/01/2028 Mon Summer classes begin
05/01/2028 Mon Summer tuition balance due
05/14/2028 Sun Last day to add a summer course
05/14/2028 Sun Last day to drop a summer course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded
05/15/2028 Mon Summer withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund)
05/21/2028 Sun Last day to withdraw from a summer course for a 50% refund
05/29/2028 Mon Memorial Day; no classes, university offices closed
05/28/2028 Sun Last day to withdraw from a summer course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
06/19/2028 Mon Juneteenth; no classes, university offices closed
07/04/2028 Tue Independence Day; no classes, university offices closed
07/09/2028 Sun Last day to withdraw from a summer course or change a grade option
08/13/2028 Sun Summer classes end
08/27/2028 Sun Official Degree Award Date (the date that appears on August diplomas; no event associated with this date)