You are here: AUx1 Instructors and Peer Facilitators

Fall 2019: AUx1 (CORE-100 & CORE-101) Instructors and Peer Facilitators

Last name starts with B

Rachel Brown Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Rachel Brown (she/her/hers) is an AUx Instructor & Advisor, coming alongside first-year students to guide them in their transition from high school to college. She loves listening to and learning from

  rachelb@american.edu

Matthew Bruno Assistant Director, First Year Advising Provost, Office of the

Bruno is a double graduate of George Mason University (B.A.I.N. in Community Studies in 2005 and a M.A.I.S. in Higher Education in 2009). Currently, Bruno is an Assistant Director of First Year Advisi

  mbruno@american.edu

  (202) 885-1523

Last name starts with C

Camille Clark Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Camille Clark (she/her/hers) earned a Bachelor of Science in Journalism, a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish and a Master of Science in Higher Education Administration from the University of Kansas. Prior t

  cclark@american.edu

  (202) 885-6896

Nicole Cox Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Nicole Cox is a writer who teaches. She holds an B.A. in English from Yeshiva University and an M.F.A. in Poetry from Emerson College. At the University of Illinois at Chicago, she taught in the First

  ncox@american.edu

Steven Crudele Adjunct Instructor First Year Advising, Office of

Steven Crudele (he/him/his) holds a Bachelor of Science in History Secondary Education from Towson University and a Master of Science in Higher Education, Student Affairs from Florida State University

  scrudele@american.edu

  (202) 885-6897

Last name starts with D

Caroline DeLeon Adjunct Instructor First Year Advising, Office of

Caroline serves as the Assistant Director of First Year Advising with the Office of Undergraduate Studies. She previously worked with AU as the Coordinator of Multicultural and First-Generation Progra

  cdeleon@american.edu

  (202) 885-6852

Ashley Dorsey Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Ashley Dorsey (she/her/hers) has been an Instructor in the AUx program since Spring 2018, and has served as an Instructor/Adviser with AUx since Summer 2018. She earned her B.A. in English with a conc

  adorsey@american.edu

  (202) 885-6853

Amanda Dowd Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Amanda Dowd (she/her/hers) is a two-time graduate of The University of South Florida having earned a B.A. in Humanities and an M.L.A. in Humanities and Film Studies. Currently she serves as an AUx Ins

  adowd@american.edu

  (202) 885-6898

Joseph Dubose Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Joseph DuBose (he,him,his) serves as an American University Experience (AUx) Instructor & Advisor. He studied Human Resources at the University of Toledo where he later completed an M.A. in Higher Edu

  jdubose@american.edu

Last name starts with H

Last name starts with J

Last name starts with M

Andrea Malamisura Assistant Director, First Year Advising Provost, Office of the

Andrea Malamisura (she/her/hers) holds a BS in Psychology from Virginia Tech and an MS in Counseling Psychology from Radford University. Currently she serves as Assistant Director of First Year Advisi

  andream@american.edu

  (202) 885-2584

Morgan Maxwell Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Morgan Maxwell (she/her/hers) graduated with her M.Ed from Clemson University’s Counselor Education: Student Affairs graduate program. She worked in Clemson’s Center for Career and Professional Develo

  mmaxwell@american.edu

Last name starts with N

Last name starts with O

Jason Ottley Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Jason Ottley (he/him/his) serves as an Assistant Director of First Year Advising at American University. Prior to this position, Jason was a Visiting Assistant Professor at California University of Pe

  jottley@american.edu

Last name starts with S

Darien Smith Adjunct Instructor General Education

Darien Smith (He/Him/His) is a First-Year Advisor and AUx Instructor. Darien holds a B.S. in Psychology from Clemson University and an M.Ed. in Higher Education, Student Affairs, and International Edu

  dariens@american.edu

Arthur Stallworth Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Arthur Stallworth (he/him/his) has a dynamic background in Higher Education. He has earned a Doctorate of Education (EdD) in Interdisciplinary Leadership, Masters of Biomedical Sciences (MS), and Bach

  stallwor@american.edu

Michelle Swiger Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Michelle Swiger (she/her/hers) is an AUx Instructor and Advisor. Previously, she worked in the Center for Community Engagement and Service. In this role she managed large-scale community engagement pr

  mswiger@american.edu

  (202) 885-6850

Last name starts with T

Wim Taylor Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Wim Taylor joined the Kogod Center for Career Development in September 2011 as the Associate Director of Employer Relations. In November of 2014, Wim transitioned into the role of Director of Alumni E

  rtaylor@american.edu

  (202) 885-1196

Last name starts with W

Kyle Whitaker Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Kyle Whitaker (he/him/his) currently serves as a First-Year Advisor and AUx Instructor at American University. He holds a B.A. in English Literature from Elon University and an M.Ed. in Higher Educati

  whitaker@american.edu