Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

SampTA 2015 Conference

SampTA 2015 Overview

Sampling Theory and Applications
11th International Conference

SampTA is a biennial interdisciplinary international conference for mathematicians, engineers, and applied scientists. The main purpose of SampTA is to exchange recent advances in sampling theory and to explore new trends and directions in the related areas of application. The conference focuses on such fields as signal and image processing, compressed sensing, coding theory, control theory, computational neuroscience, information theory, real and complex analysis, and applied, computational, and classical harmonic analysis. The SampTA meetings attract an essentially even mix of mathematicians and engineers as the interest in sampling theory and its many applications has blossomed. This even mix makes the SampTA meetings unique in the scientific community. The conference organization is headed by an international steering committee consisting of prominent mathematicians and engineers, a local organizing committee, and a technical committee responsible for the conference program.


2015 Plenary Speakers

Richard G. Baraniuk, Rice University

Robert Calderbank, Duke University

Laurent Demanet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Yonina Eldar, Technion

Joseph Emerson, University of Waterloo

Pascal Frossard, EPFL

Stanley Osher, UCLA

Thomas Strohmer, University of California, Davis

Alexander Ulanovskii, University of Stavanger


Special Sessions for SampTA 2015

A to D Algorithms and Chip Design
Laurent Fesquet, Sebastian Hoyos, Brian Sadler

Compressed Sensing and Sparsity Based Regularizations
Ben Adock, Felix Krahmer

Dynamical, Nonlinear and Mobile Sampling
Roza Aceska, José Luis Romero, Qiyu Sun

Frame Theory
Gitta Kutyniok, Götz Pfander

Low Rank Matrix and Tensor Recovery
Holger Rauhut

Phase Retrieval
Holger Boche, Bernhard Bodmann

Sampling in Non-Euclidean Spaces
Gestur Olafsson

Sampling Signals with Finite Rate of Innovation in Biomedical Applications
Pina Marziliano

Sampling and Stochastic Processes
Michael Unser

Universal Sampling, Fourier Frames and Riesz Bases of Exponentials
Jorge Antezana, Jordi Marzo

Previous SampTA Meetings

Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany
July 1-5, 2013

Nanyang Technical University, Singapore
May 2-6, 2011

CIRM, Marseilles, France
May 18-22, 2009

Aristotle University, Thessaloniki, Greece
June 1-5, 2007

Samsun, Turkey
July 10-15, 2005 

Strobl, Austria
May 26-30, 2003

UCF, Orlando Florida, USA
May 13-17, 2001

Loen, Norway
August 11-14, 1999

Aveiro, Portugal
July 16-19, 1997

Riga, Latvia
September 20-22, 1995

Sampling Theory in Signal & Image Processing (STSIP)

SampTA 2015 Call for Papers

SampTA 2015

Took place May 25–29, 2015

Conference Proceedings

Now Available — please see IEEE Explore

Conference Copyright Forms

American University

4400 Massachusetts Ave,
Washington, DC 20016

SampTA 2015
Design by Randy Mays.

Local Organizing Committee

Stephen D. Casey, Chair, American University
(Complex and Harmonic Analysis)

Michael Robinson, Publications, American University (Topological Signal Processing)

Kevin Duke, Finance, American University
(Harmonic Analysis)

Brian M. Sadler, Army Research Lab
(Signal Processing)

Kasso A. Okoudjou, University of Maryland
(Harmonic Analysis)


Steering Committee

Ahmed Zayed, Chair, DePaul University, USA

Akram Aldroubi, Vanderbilt University, USA

John Benedetto, University of Maryland, USA

Paul Butzer, RWTH Aachen, Germany

Yonina Eldar, Technion, Israel

Hans Feichtinger, University of Vienna, Austria

Paulo Ferreira, University of Aveiro, Portugal

Karlheinz Gröchenig, University of Vienna, Austria

Rowland Higgins, Anglia Polytechnic University, UK

Gitta Kutyniok, TU Berlin, Germany

Abdul Jerri, Clarkson University, USA

Yuri Lyubarskii, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Farokh Marvasti, Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Gerhard Schmeisser, Erlangen-Nürnberg University, Germany

Bruno Torrésani, Aix-Marseille Université, France

Michael Unser, EPFL, Switzerland


Technical Committee

Carlos Cabrelli, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Paulo Ferreira, University of Aveiro, Portugal

Vivek Goyal, Boston University, USA

Anders Hansen, Cambridge University, UK

Pina Marziliano, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Götz Pfander, Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany