You are here: American University School of Communication News 2016 Kappa Tau Alpha Inductees

2016 Kappa Tau Alpha Inductees

By  | 

Kappa Tau Alpha National Honor Society seal

AU's chapter of Kappa Tau Alpha, a national journalism and mass communications honor society, welcomed 11 new members at a ceremony earlier this week. The event was also a celebration of the chapter's 50th anniversary since forming in 1966. 

Nine seniors were inducted for their outstanding work at AU and in the professional realm. Despite its Greek letters, KTA is not a fraternal organization and membership is by invitation only. 

Two members of the SOC faculty were also recognized for their achievements with membership: Professors Angie Chuang and John Watson. Chuang will also become KTA's new faculty advisor, replacing longtime advisor, Professor W. Joseph Campbell who additionally served as the organization's national president for two terms (2010-12).

"Nationally, members of KTA must rank in the top 10 percent of their journalism or mass communication classes. Here at AU, our standards are considerably more stringent: only the top two or three percent of journalism and communication studies students are invited to KTA membership," Campbell said. 

Campbell left these exemplary students with a congratulatory message: "KTA membership at AU is a very high honor indeed; it's a singular honor."

KTA's Nine New Student Members

Angela Cook
Madelyn Daigle
Eli Fosl
Emilie Ikeda
Emma Knight
Leila Nasser
Susannah Stern
Kier Strader-Monaghan
Trey Yingst