Special Education (SPED) Faculty

Alida Anderson Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Alida Anderson earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park. Research and teaching interests focus on contextual factors associated with language development and l

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Sarah Irvine Belson Interim Vice Provost for Research Provost, Office of the

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instruction with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with dis

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Adelaide Kelly-Massoud Director for the Special Education Program SOE - School of Education

Dr. Adelaide Kelly-Massoud is the Director of the MA in Special Education: Learning Disabilities program. Adelaide received her undergraduate from the University of Connecticut. Soon after she receive

  adelaide@american.edu

  (202) 885-8254

SPED Staff

Jennifer Durham Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer Durham holds a PhD from George Mason University. Her research focuses upon arts integration, multi-sensory teaching methodologies, and assessment practices for children with specific lear

  jennifer.durham@american.edu

Anne Karabell Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Annie Karabell joined the Institute for Innovation in Education at the School of Education in 2019. Her research interests include early childhood literacy, reading disabilities, and inclusive instruc

  karabell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8253

Melissa Wood Adjunct Instructor

Mary Beth Wood joined AU's media relations team in January 2010 after relocating from New York City. In her current role, Mary Beth is responsible for generating internal and external awareness and pu

  mwood@american.edu