You are here: American University University Awards

About University Awards

Each year, American University recognizes the exceptional achievements of outstanding faculty, students, staff, and alumni through University Awards.

President Burwell announced the launch of the 2020 annual nomination process for faculty, staff, students, and alumni on January 24. Members of the AU community are encouraged to nominate fellow community members, and self-nominations are also accepted. See details below about each award category!

The nomination process for the 2021 awards will be announced in January 2021.

AU Seal
2018 Student Award Recipients

Student Awards

University Student Awards honor graduating students and are presented in May during commencement weekend. 

Learn More & Nominate

American University Faculty Awards

Faculty Awards

University Faculty Awards, presented at the Faculty Recognition Dinner in April, honor the work of full-time and adjunct faculty.

Learn More & Nominate

Everett Buchanan, 2018 Customer Support Award Winner

Staff Awards

University staff awards recognize staff members and teams and are presented at the Staff Awards Luncheon in June.

Learn More & Nominate

American University 2018 Alumni award recipients

Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards, the highest honors presented by the AU Alumni Association, are presented each year in the fall.

About Alumni Awards

Past Recipients

View past recipients of the Student, Faculty, Staff and Alumni Awards as we continue to watch their great work and success on and off campus!

View Past Recipients

Two women in front of books and window

Achievements ·

Appetite for Knowledge: Annelise Straw is the 2019 President’s Award Winner

Read More