Clinical Psychology Faculty

Anthony Ahrens Professor CAS - Psychology

My continuing interests include gratitude and mindfulness, especially the relation of gratitude to the desire to be independent of others. I also have two relatively new interests. (1) Non-Buddhist co

  ahrens@american.edu

  (202) 885-1714

Nicole Caporino Assoc Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Caporino’s primary research interest is maximizing the efficacy of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) for anxiety and obsessive-compulsive disorders in children and adolescents. This involves iden

  caporino@american.edu

  (202) 885-6358

Michele Carter Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Carter received his doctorate and master’s degrees from Vanderbilt University and his bachelor’s degree from Georgia State University. He completed a clinical internship at the Palo Alto V.A. foll

  mcart@american.edu

  (202) 885-1712

James Gray Prof Emeritus

Current Research Interests:
Eating Disorders,
Behavior Therapy,
Psychotherapy,
Abnormal Psychology,
Psychology of Religion

  (202) 885-1716

Kathleen Gunthert Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Gunthert’s program of research focuses on the influence of everyday stress and coping on depression and anxiety. Specifically, she has used intensive daily monitoring techniques to address how eve

  gunthert@american.edu

  (202) 885-1701

David Haaga Professor CAS - Psychology

Dave Haaga is a Professor of Psychology and has been a faculty member at American University since 1989. Dr. Haaga received his PhD in clinical psychology from the University of Southern California an

  dhaaga@american.edu

  (202) 885-1718

Erica Hart Professorial Lecturer CAS - Psychology

Erica teaches a range of psychology courses including Abnormal Psychology, Social Psychology, Personality Psychology, Introduction to Clinical Psychology and Research Methods. Throughout these courses

  hart@american.edu

  (202) 885-1418

Nathaniel Herr Assoc Professor CAS - Psychology

Nathaniel Herr is an Associate Professor of Psychology who joined the department in 2012. Dr. Herr received his PhD in Clinical Psychology from the University of California, Los Angeles and received p

  nherr@american.edu

  (202) 885-1724

Laura Juliano Professor CAS - Psychology

Laura M. Juliano earned her PhD in Clinical Psychology from the State University of New York at Binghamton and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Her

  juliano@american.edu

  (202) 885-1715

Nicole Lorenzo Asst Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Lorenzo studies relationships between parenting and early childhood social-emotional and behavioral functioning. The goal of her research is to aid in the early identification of children at risk

  nlorenzo@american.edu

Brian Yates Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Yates has published or has in-press 100 articles, book chapters, and online pieces, including 6 books. Most of his publications apply cost-effectiveness or cost-benefit analysis to the systematic

  brian.yates@american.edu

  (202) 885-1727